DAC / Dual Mono ES9018 Digital Analog Converter

this project / page is under construction

 

Table of Content

Introduction

2016/11/08

Since many years I have the idea to build my own DAC. In the meantime I generated at least 4 designs, all of them around Burr Brown / Texas Instruments converters, but finally I never realised them. Mid of 2015 I gave this project a new try.

In opposite to my previous designs I decided this time to take a chip from ESS Technology – the ES9018 SABRE32 Reference Audio DAC. The problem was that there are no generally accessible publications of the data sheets and that I had to sign a non-disclosure agreement to get these documents.

At least this procedure seems to be too complex for me and I decided to look for a finished design with these chips. I found a very nice implementation from Twisted Pear Audio whose Buffalo-IIISE DAC I used in my implementation in a dual mono version – therefore I had to buy two boards.

The complete DAC is based on 2 chassis with the following circuit parts :

  • DAC Signal Module
    • RStAudio S/PDIF input module
    • Amanero Technologies USB OEM Combo384 module
    • Twisted Pear Audio Hermes-Amanero USB isolator module
    • Twisted Pear Audio Cronus re-clocking module with 45,1584MHz / 49,152MHz Rhea pair
    • Twisted Pear Audio Buffalo-IIISE DAC
    • RStAudio I/V converter
    • RStAudio discrete symmetrical voltage regulator for the I/V stages
    • RStAudio discrete voltage regulator for the DAC modules
    • RStAudio integrated voltage regulator for the digitale front ends
  • DAC Power Supply Module
    • 230V/AC supply
    • 2× unregulated symmetrical voltage supply for the analoge circuit parts
    • 2× unregulated voltage supply for the DAC’s
    • 2× unregulated voltage supply for the digitale front ends
    • Remote on/off

In the following table the data formats and the sampling frequencues the DAC is able to transfer are listed.

 Sample RatesFormat (Output / Input)
S/PDIF Inputup to 192kHzI2S 24Bit
Amanero USBup to 384kHzI2S 32Bit
up to DSD512
Buffalo-IIISEup to 384kHzI2S 32Bit, S/PDIF, DSD

Description of the Hardware

2016/11/18

In this chapter I decribe each hardware module. For the parts I bought I have no schematics available, for some of the other I don’t want to publish the schematics. However I hope that the informations on this page for DIYers with Twisted Pear Audio DAC’s are of interest.

S/PDIF Receiver

Core of the S/PDIF receiver is the CS8416 Digital Audio Receiver from Cirrus Logic. I use the chip in it’s hardware mode and therefore I can only use a maximum of 4 input channels. These inputs are coupled with digital isolated transformers. One input is wired for the professional AES/EBU and the 3 others for the consumer S/PDIF format. The third S/PDIF input can be used alternatively with a TOSLINK receiver module.

Amanero USB Interface

In search of an USB interface for the DAC I found very quickly the boards from Amanero Technologies. In the meantime you can order them also directly from Twisted Pear Audio. It was very important for me that this interface works asynchronous and is also able to transfer all actual used HiRes formats. With 384kHz I2S and DSD512 this board is enough equippeded. I bought it directly from the manufacturer and therefore I had to reprogram the firmware for the use togehter with the Cronus module (see below). The operation of the USB interface with a Windows 7 PC on one hand and with the Twisted Pear Audio module as a receiver on the other hand is working without any problems.

Amanero Technologies USB Interface

Amanero Technologies USB Interface (Picture Source)

In cooperation with the Cronus / Hermes boards the firmware have to reprogrammed because the USB interface has to work in slave mode. There are 2 chips on the boards with a firmware and both needs another software for this mode. The CPLD gets the Slave_For_1080 and the CPU the firmware_1096c3w2 firmware. At the homepage of the manufacturer you can download everything incl. the driver for Windows. You also find a description how to reprogram the chips. If you follow this description carefully than the programming is not an issue.

Konfigurations-Bits

Configurations Bits for the Amanero Board

Everything is very nice described in this thread on diyaudio.com. I took the screen shot above from this discussion. You have to set the configuration bits after the reprogramming in the same way as shown.

If you order the board directly from Twisted Pear Audio they are prepared for the cooperation with Cronus and Hermes and therefore you don’t have to regrogram the firmware.

Hermes-Amanero

With this module the Amanero Technologies USB interface is isolated to the Twisted Pear Audio Cronus module. The interface is running in slave mode and gets his clock from the Cronus oscillators. To use the words of the developer Russ White:

This is not really simply reclocking – it is in fact simply a perfectly time aligned USB source.

I have nothing to add to this statement.

Twisted Pear Audio Hermes-Amanero Board

Twisted Pear Audio Hermes-Amanero Board (Picture Source)

Cronus and Rhea

The Cronus board is an electronic module which delivers clock signals with a very low jitter. They are used as a master clock for a digital source – the USB interface in my implementation. Therefore the Cronus has two crystal oscillators with an extreme low phase noise in use – the Rhea modules. I have ordered the oscillators with 45.1584MHz and 49.152MHz. They are the basis for the 44.1kHz and 48kHz clock family of the digital signal processing.

Twisted Pear Audio Cronus Board

Twisted Pear Audio Cronus Board (Picture Source)

It is important to set the jumper on the Cronus board with the above mentioned Rhea clocks to 1:2 for the Amanero USB interface.

Because of the construction of the Hermes board you can stacked all 3 boards. This gives you the shortest connections, a very high operation reliability and a small footprint (see below).

Amanero Technologies and Twisted Pear Audio Stacked Boards

Amanero Technologies and Twisted Pear Audio Stacked Boards (Picture Source)

Buffalo-IIISE DAC

As I wrote above the basis of the two boards are the ESS Technology ES9018 SABRE32 Reference Audio DAC. The chip has 8 D/A converters integrated. On the Buffalo-IIISE board 2×4 of them are connected in parallel. You get a stereo DAC with a better noise performance compared to one single DAC on the chip. With the dual mono version I have in use you take 2 boards and connect the two channels on one board in parallel – at least you have all 8 converters of one chip connected together, with the result of an additional improvement of the noise performance.

You have to take care with the cabling towards the I/V converter. The two analoge outputs of the Buffalo-IIISE have not the same pin configuration. You find a very nice descriptions of it in the instruction manual

leonvb-buffalo_iii_dac_integration_guide_v2.1.3.pdf

for the boards (on page 44). You can download this manual on the homepage of the manufacturer.

I/V Converter

The DAC’s delivers symmetrical output currents. The function of the I/V stage is to convert these currents in voltages and take care of the speciality of symmetrical signals. In the circuit I describe here I took integrated circuits as active elements. Best suitable for these job is the symmetrical OPA1632 from Texas Instruments, which audiophile performance is exceptional.

The complete circuit of one channel consists of two OPA1632. The first chip is wired as a current to voltage converter, followed by a passive symmetrical low pass filter. All digital signals have to passed an oversampling stage in it’s DAC and therefore the output sampling rate is high. As a consequence the anti-aliasing filters can be very simple – I have first order filters in use. The second OPA1632 is working as a voltage amplifier and as an output driver.

These stage is a first implementation to get a good sounding solution very quickly. It is very similar to the design of the Twisted Pear Audio IVY III Balanced Linestage. As a final solution I want to use a discrete I/V stage and these converter here I will use as a reference for my own development.

In the above mentioned description you can find a dimensioning instruction for the I/V stage. For 8 DAC’s in parallel – as in the mono configuration – a feedback resistor of 360Ω is recommended for the current to voltage converter. With such a value the voltage level behind the first OPA1632 is considerably too high and must be lowered from the second stage. This was definitely not my prefered solution. I have lowered both feedback resistors to 150Ω and the amplification factor of the second stage matched to the output level of my SACD player.

Prototype of the DAC

Prototype of the DAC

Voltage Supplies

The complete power supply beginning from the DAC’s is designed in a dual mono configuration. Naturally this is not possible with the digital front end.

For the voltage regulators of the I/V converters and the DAC boards I have my proven discrete regulators in use which I also installed in my VV5 preamp – the modified Pass regulators. The circuits for the I/V stages delivers symmetrical voltages and for the DAC boards only one voltage each. For the supplies of the pure digital circuits I use the integrated voltage regulator LT3080 from Linear Technology, a really remarkable and multifunctional chip.

In front of the regulators the unregulated DC supplies are working in the Power Supply Module. It starts with a 230V/AC DC filter ahead of the transformers. Between the secondary windings and the bridge rectifiers I placed snubber networks. The bridge rectifiers I build with discrete ultra fast soft recovery diodes, following by CLC filters with relatively big electrolytic capacitors. At the output of all unregulated power supplies I have cap multipliers in use – as I said, proven technology which I use also in my preamplifier.

The complete voltage supplies for the I/V stages is designed in a way that I can have output voltages up to ±32V/DC for the analoge circuits. To hold the power losses of the regulators within an acceptable range the each secondary winding of the transformers for these stages have two outputs.

Prototype of the DAC Power Supply

Prototyp of the DAC Power Supply

DAC / Dual Mono ES9018 D/A-Wandler

this project / page is under construction

 

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Einleitung

10.08.2016

Der Gedanke mir einen DAC zu bauen beschäftigt mich schon seit sehr vielen Jahren. In der Zwischenzeit habe ich mindestens 4 Design’s erstellt, alle rund um Burr Brown / Texas Instruments Wandler, die ich letztendlich aber leider nicht realisiert habe. Mitte 2015 startete ich einen erneuten Anlauf.

Im Gegensatz zu den vorhergehenden Schaltungen wollte ich dieses Mal einen Chip von ESS Technology, den ES9018 – SABRE32 Reference Audio DAC – einsetzen. Ich mußte allerdings feststellen das es keine allgemein zugängliche Veröffentlichungen der Datenblätter gibt und das man eine Vertraulichkeitserklärung unterschreiben muß um an diese Dokumente zu kommen.

Letztendlich war mir das ganze Prozedere zu aufwändig und so habe ich mich nach fertigen Leiterplatten für diesen Chip umgeschaut. Fündig geworden bin ich bei Twisted Pear Audio dessen Buffalo-IIISE DAC ich als Dual Mono Version – also insgesamt 2 Boards – in meinem DAC eingesetzt habe.

Der komplette DAC besteht aus 2 Gehäusen die die folgenden Schaltungsteile enthalten :

  • DAC Signal Modul
    • RStAudio S/PDIF Input Modul
    • Amanero Technologies USB OEM Combo384 Modul
    • Twisted Pear Audio Hermes-Amanero USB Isolator Modul
    • Twisted Pear Audio Cronus Re-Clocking Modul mit 45,1584MHz / 49,152MHz Rhea Paar
    • Twisted Pear Audio Buffalo-IIISE DAC
    • RStAudio I/V Converter
    • RStAudio diskrete symmetrische Spannungsregler für die I/V Stufe
    • RStAudio diskrete Spannungsregler für die DAC Module
    • RStAudio integrierte Spannungsregler für die digitalen Front-Ends
  • DAC Power Supply Modul
    • 230V/AC Versorgung
    • 2× unregulierte symmetrische Spannungsversorgung für die analogen Schaltungsteile
    • 2× unregulierte Spannungsversorgungen für die DAC’s
    • 2× unregulierte Spannungsversorgungen für die digitalen Front-Ends
    • Remote On/Off

In der folgenden Tabelle sind die Datenformate und Abtastfrequenzen gelistet die der DAC übertragen kann.

 Sample RatesFormat (Output / Input)
S/PDIF Inputup to 192kHzI2S 24Bit
Amanero USBup to 384kHzI2S 32Bit
up to DSD512
Buffalo-IIISEup to 384kHzI2S 32Bit, S/PDIF, DSD

Beschreibung der Hardware

13.10.2016

Im Folgenden beschreibe ich die Hardware im einzelnen. Für einige der zugekauften Schaltungsteile habe ich keine Schaltpläne, bei den anderen möchte ich teilweise auf eine Veröffentlichung verzichten. Trotz allem hoffe ich das besonders für DIYer die sich mit den Twisted Pear Audio DAC’s beschäftigen einige Informationen von Interesse sind.

S/PDIF Receiver

Herzstück des S/PDIF Receivers ist der CS8416 Digital Audio Receiver von Cirrus Logic. Der Chip wird im Hardware Modus betrieben und somit können maximal 4 Eingänge verwendet werden. Die Eingänge sind potentialfrei mittels Übertrager gekoppelt. Ein Eingang ist für das professionelle AES/EBU und die anderen 3 für das Consumer S/PDIF Format verschaltet. Der dritte S/PDIF Eingang läßt sich per Jumper wahlweise auch mit einem TOSLINK Empfänger betreiben.

Amanero USB Interface

Auf der Suche nach einem USB Interface für den DAC bin ich sehr schnell auf die Boards von Amanero Technologies gestoßen. In der Zwischenzeit sind diese Boards auch direkt bei Twisted Pear Audio bestellbar. Wichtig war mir vor allen Dingen das das Interface asynchron läuft und alle aktuellen HiRes Formate übertragen kann. Mit 384kHz I2S und DSD512 ist man mit diesem Board zur Zeit sehr gut ausgestattet. Das Board habe ich direkt beim Hersteller gekauft und so mußte ich eine andere Firmware für den Betrieb mit dem Cronus Modul aufspielen (siehe unten). Der Betrieb dieses Moduls zum einen mit meinem Windows 7 PC als Zuspieler und zum anderen mit den Twisted Pear Audio Modulen als Empfänger funktioniert völlig problemlos.

Amanero Technologies USB Interface

Amanero Technologies USB Interface (Bildquelle)

Das Board wird im Zusammenspiel mit den Cronus / Hermes Boards im Slave Modus betrieben und so muß – wie oben schon angedeutet – eine andere Firmware aufgespielt werden. Das Board hat 2 Chip’s die programmiert werden müssen. Der CPLD bekommt die Firmware Slave_For_1080 und die CPU die Firmware firmware_1096c3w2. Auf der Homepage des Herstellers kann man sich alles inkl. der Treiber für Windows herunterladen. Hier findet sich auch eine Anleitung wie man für die Programmierung vorgehen muß. An diese Anleitung sollte man sich genauestens halten, dann funktioniert es auch mit der Firmware.

Konfigurations-Bits

Setzen der Konfigurationsbits für das Amanero Board

Alles ist auch sehr schön in diesem Thread auf diyaudio.com nachzulesen. Dort findet sich auch der obige Screen Shot. Die Konfigurationsbits des Boards sollten nach der Änderung der Firmware entsprechend dem obigen Angaben gesetzt werden.

Wenn man das Board direkt bei Twisted Pear Audio bestellt ist es für den Betrieb mit Cronus und Hermes vorbereitet. Man braucht also die Firmware nicht umzuprogrammieren.

Hermes-Amanero

Mit diesem Modul kann man das Amanero Technologies USB Modul zusammen mit dem Twisted Pear Audio Cronus Modul nutzen. Das USB Modul wird dabei vollständig isoliert und im Slave Mode betrieben – es erzeugt seinen Takt also nicht selbst sondern bezieht ihn vom Cronus Modul. Um es mit den Worten des Entwicklers Russ White zu sagen:

This is not really simply reclocking – it is in fact simply a perfectly time aligned USB source.

Zu dieser Aussage habe ich nichts weiter hinzuzufügen.

Twisted Pear Audio Hermes-Amanero Board

Twisted Pear Audio Hermes-Amanero Board (Bildquelle)

Cronus und Rhea

Beim Cronus Modul handelt es sich um eine Elektronik die Taktsignale mit sehr niedrigem Jitter liefert. Sie wird dazu genutzt den Master-Clock eines Zuspielers – hier handelt es sich um den USB Anschluß – zu ersetzen. Dazu werden 2 extrem rauscharme Quarzoszillatoren verwendet – die Rhea Module. Ich habe mich für die Module mit den höheren Frequenzen entschieden (45,1584MHz und 49,152MHz). Sie bilden die Basis für die 44,1kHz und die 48kHz Taktfamilie in der digitalen Signalverarbeitung.

Twisted Pear Audio Cronus Board

Twisted Pear Audio Cronus Board (Bildquelle)

Wichtig bei der Verwendung der oben beschriebenen Rhea Clocks ist das man den Taktteiler in Richtung Amanero auf 1:2 setzt. Hierfür muß man einen Jumper auf dem Cronus Board umsetzen.

Das Hermes Board ist so konstruiert das man alle 3 Boards per Steckerleisten übereinander stapeln kann. Somit erhält man kürzeste Verbindungen, eine sehr hohe Betriebssicherheit und einen geringen Platzbedarf (siehe Bild unten).

Amanero Technologies und Twisted Pear Audio Stacked Boards

Amanero Technologies und Twisted Pear Audio Stacked Boards (Bildquelle)

Buffalo-IIISE DAC

Wie ich oben schon geschrieben habe basieren die beiden Boards auf dem ESS Technology ES9018 SABRE32 Reference Audio DAC. Es handelt sich um einen Chip mit insgesamt 8 D/A-Wandlern von denen jeweils 4 auf dem Buffalo-IIISE Board zusammengeschaltet sind. Somit erhält man einen Stereo DAC mit verbessertem Rauschverhalten. Bei der Dual Mono Version die ich einsetze nimmt man 2 Boards und schaltet die beiden Kanäle auf einem Board zusammen – somit hat man also 8 D/A-Wandler parallel geschaltet mit einer nochmaligen Verbesserung des Rauschabstandes.

Bei der Verdrahtung der I/V Stufe muß man aufpassen. Die beiden analogen Ausgänge des Buffalo-IIISE sind in der Mono-Konfiguration nicht gleich belegt. Alles ist aber prima in der Anleitung

leonvb-buffalo_iii_dac_integration_guide_v2.1.3.pdf

zu den Boards (auf Seite 44) beschrieben. Man kann sie sich auf der Seite des Herstellers herunterladen.

I/V Converter

Die DAC’s liefern symmetrische Ausgangsströme. Eine I/V Stufe muß so konstruiert sein das sie diese Signale optimal in Spannungen umsetzt und auf die Besonderheiten symmetrischer Signale angepaßt ist. In der hier beschriebenen Implementierung verwende ich integrierte Schaltungen. Besonders geeignet ist der symmetrische OPA1632 von Texas Instruments, zumal die audiophilen Eigenschaften dieses Chip’s außergewöhnlich sind.

Die gesamte Schaltung eines Kanals besteht aus zwei hintereinander geschalteter OPA1632. Der erste ist als Strom-Spannungswandler verschaltet. Dieser Stufe schließt sich eine passive symmetrische Tiefpaßfilterung an. Da alle digitalen Signale in den DAC’s durch eine Oversampling Stufe laufen und das Ausgangssignal entsprechend hochfrequent ist, kann der Filter sehr einfach gestaltet werden – hier ist es ein Filter erster Ordnung. Der zweite OPA1632 dient als Spannunsgverstärker und Ausgangstreiber.

Diese Stufe ist eine erste Implementierung um schnell eine gut klingende Lösung zu erhalten. Sie hält sich an das Design der Twisted Pear Audio IVY III Balanced Linestage. Als endgültige Lösung strebe ich eine diskrete I/V Stufe an. Die hier beschriebene Stufe dient mir dabei als Referenz.

In der oben aufgeführten Anleitung wird eine Dimensionierungsvorschrift für die I/V Stufe vorgegeben. Für 8 parallel geschaltete DAC’s – wie es bei der Mono-Konfiguration der Fall ist – wird ein Widerstandswert von 360Ω für den Strom-Spannungswandler empfohlen. Mit dieser Dimensionierung ist der Pegel hinter dem ersten OPA1632 deutlich zu groß und muß durch die zweite Stufe wieder verringert werden. Das gefiel mir überhaupt nicht und so habe ich die beiden Widerstände in der ersten Stufe auf 150Ω verringert und die Verstärkung der zweiten Stufe an den Ausgangspegel meines SACD-Players angepasst.

Prototyp des DAC's

Prototyp des DAC’s

Spannungsversorgung

Die gesamte Stromversorgung ist ab den DAC’s – wie eigentlich immer in meinen Design’s – als Dual Mono Konfiguration ausgelegt. Natürgemäß ist das bei dem digitalen Front End nicht möglich.

Bei den Spannungsreglern für die I/V-Stufen und den DAC Boards setze ich auf die bewährten diskreten Spannungsregler die ich auch in meinem VV5 einsetze – die von mir modifizierten Pass’schen Regler. Die Regelschaltungen für die I/V Stufen sind symmetrisch ausgeführt und die der DAC Boards haben nur jeweils eine Spannung. Die rein digitalen Schaltkreise versorge ich mit Spannungsreglern basierend auf dem LT3080 von Linear Technology, ein wirklich bemerkenswerter und vielseitiger Chip.

Vorgelagert vor den Reglern sind die ungeregelten DC Spannungsversorgungen im Power Supply Modul. Vor den Transformatoren findet sich ein 230V/AC DC-Filter. Zwischen den Sekundärwindungen der Trafo’s und den Gleichrichtern sind Snubber Netzwerke angeordnet. Die Gleichrichter sind diskret mit Ultra Fast Soft Recovery Dioden aufgebaut, gefolgt von einem CLC Filter mit relativ großen Elko’s. Am Ausgang aller ungeregelter Spannungsversorgungen sitzen dann noch Kapazitätsmultiplizierer – wie gesagt, bewährte Technik wie sie auch in meiner Vorstufe zu finden ist.

Die gesamte Spannungsversorgungskette für die I/V Stufen sind so ausgelegt das ich eine Spannung von bis zu ±32V/DC für die analogen Schaltkreise zur Verfügung stellen kann. Um die Verlustleistungen der Regler in einem vernünftigen Bereich zu halten sind die Trafo’s mit Zwischenabgriffen für die Sekundärspannungen versehen.

Prototyp des DAC Netzteils

Prototyp des DAC Netzteils