MC1 / Hiraga MC Preamplifier

MC1 / Hiraga MC Preamplifier

 

Table of Contents

Introduction

2010/02/23

In February 2010 at the AAA (Analogue Audio Association) regulars’ table we had the wish to have a Hiraga MC prepreamplifier available. Since a long time I was very interested in this design and therefore no one has to asked me to start a development. I had enough open DIY projects at that time, but this design is so simple that it takes not much time to design a PCB.

Schematic of the Hiraga MC Preamplifier

2010/02/23

I want to start with the original schematic of Jean Hiraga from the L’Audiophile, which you can find for example at the homepage of Claudio Bonavolta.

Hiraga MC Prepre

Hiraga MC Preamplifier

The bipolar transistors of the original schematic are no longer in production and very hard to buy, but in the internet you find enough recommendations for a replacement. At the homepage from above a TBC560 from Toshiba is stated. A long year user mentioned to me in an email that the BC560C is not the optimal choice – his recommendations are the 2SA1038 and 2SA1085 (thanks Anton), which are also pnp bipolar transistors from Toshiba. I had enough 2SA1085 available and therefore I decided to use these types in my clone.

The capacitor at the output must be the highest quality for an audio coupling cap and therefore I bought Mundorf MCap Supreme silver/gold. For the resistors I use the non-magnetic Vishay-Dale CMF-55-143 and for the power supply capacitors direct at the preamp circuit Panasonic FC.


Hiraga MC Clone

Hiraga MC Clone

I matched 2 pairs out of 50 parts with the measurement of the current gain hfe. The pairs are assembled – as you can easily see on the photo above – thermic coupled on the PCB. Thereto I coated the flat surface of one transistor with thermal conductance paste and connected both with a heat shrink tube together. During a first fast verification with a laboratory power supply I was able to set the offset of both inputs to a couple of µV with an Agilent measurement device.

Power Supply

2010/05/06

Most owners make use of batteries for the power supply of the Hiraga prepre. I don’t want to do that at the beginning and therefore I decided to take a shunt regulator. It is the first time that I use such a power supply topology and my experience of the behaviour of such a regulator is limited to Spice simulations.

I use a design from Erno Borbely which is decribed in the following article

  • Shunt or Not
    Are Waagbø
    audioXpress, 02/08

I want to use a simple and complete discrete construction of the regulator and therefore I took the Simple Shunt Regulator with Constant Current Source.

As allways the power supply is build up as a dual mono design. After the transformers, the bridge rectifiers – which are build with discrete Ultrafast Soft Recovery diodes – and the first electrolytic capacitors (4× 22000µF) you find 10mA current sources. The Hiraga prepre dissipates 1mA at the positive and 2mA at the negative supply voltage and therefore the current sources are designed above the recommendations for the dimensioning in shunt regulators – arround two times of the current of the consumer load.

At the output of the regulator there are 3300µF Panasonic FC electrolytic capacitors in use. Afterwards in the enclosure of the MC stage you find additional 4× 100000µF electrolytic capacitors assisted with 10µF Wima capacitors. On the board of the Hiraga prepre itself there are 12× 2200µF Panasonic FC electrolytics connected to the power supply. Finally the overall capacity after the regulator is nominal 439640µF – at the end this is not accordance with J. Hiraga, but I think enough for a first implementation. Furthermore the shunt regulator is placed in a separate enclosure and can easily be replaced with batteries.


Dual Mono Shunt Regulator

Dual Mono Shunt Regulator

A fundamental aspect for the decision against the use of batteries are my experiences with the Pass XOno. This phono preamp needs a very long time to reach a stable operating point and as a consequence I never switch this preamp off – exactly this I want to do also with the Hiraga prepre. The power consumption is so low that there is no need to switch it off and therefore I need a power supply.

Assembly of the Enclosures

2010/05/07

As I described above the complete Hiraga prepre is placed in two enclosures – one for the preamp and one for the power supply. I bought the enclosures from HI-FI 2000. Out of their portfolio I decided to use the Galaxy Maggiorato with a dimension of 330mm × 280mm × 80mm (W×D×H) with a 10mm front panel.

On the picture below you can see the audio enclosure from the from – the front plate is not mounted. The PCB’s with the 100mF electrolytic capacitors and the 10µF MKP4 are mounted on both side frames. In front of the rear panel the Hiraga MC preamp is fixed.


Enclosure with the Hiraga MC Preamplifier

Enclosure with the Hiraga MC Preamplifier

Below you see the shunt regulator in it’s enclosure.


Enclosure with Dual Mono Shunt Regulator

Enclosure with Dual Mono Shunt Regulator

On the rear panel of the MC preamplifier the Cinch input and output connectors, the connector for the ground of the tone arm / record player, an earth connector and a 7 pole DIN connector for the DC power supply is mounted. The switch on the left side connects the ground either to the ground of the power supply or to earth.

At the power supply enclosure the 230V/AC input connector, a switch and a fuse is mounted on the left side. On the right side the 7 pole DIN connector for the DC power supply is fixed.


Rear Panel of the Hiraga MC and Power Supply

Rear Panel of the Hiraga MC and Power Supply

MC1 / Hiraga MC Vorvorverstärker

MC1 / Hiraga MC Vorvorverstärker

 

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Einleitung

22.02.2010

Im Februar 2010 entstand am ACT Niederrhein Stammtisch (Analoges Currywurst Treffen) der AAA (Analogue Audio Association) der Wunsch mal einen eigenen Hiraga MC Prepre zu betreiben. Da mich dieser Vorvorverstärker schon immer interessiert hatte brauchte mich niemand lange zu bitten die Arbeit für ein Design aufzunehmen. Letztendlich handelt es sich ja um eine sehr simple Schaltung und so war eine Leiterplatte schnell erstellt.

Schaltung der Hiraga MC Stufe

22.02.2010

Zur Beschreibung der Schaltung möchte ich erst einmal die originale Schaltung von Jean Hiraga aus der L’Audiophile, wie sie z.B. auf der Homepage von Claudio Bonavolta zu finden ist, zeigen.

Hiraga MC Prepre

Hiraga MC Vorvorverstärker

Die angegebenen Transistoren der originalen Schaltung sind nur noch sehr schwer zu besorgen und so kursieren einige Ersatztypen als Empfehlung durch das Netz. Auf der oben genannten Homepage wird ein TBC560 von Toshiba angegeben. Nach Aussage eines langjährigen Nutzers dieser Schaltung stellt der BC560C aber nicht die optimale Wahl dar – die Empfehlung lautet hier 2SA1038 oder 2SA1085 (danke Anton), ebenfalls pnp Transistoren von Toshiba. Da ich genügend 2SA1085 vorrätig hatte fiel die Wahl natürlich auf diesen Transistor.

Der Kondensator am Ausgang sollte eine sehr hohe Qualität als Audio-Koppelkondensator besitzen und so habe ich mich an dieser Stelle für einen Mundorf MCap Supreme silver/gold entschieden. Als Widerstände habe ich die bewährten nicht magnetischen Vishay-Dale CMF-55-143 und Panasonic FC’s als Elko’s der Betriebsspannungen eingesetzt.


Bestückte Leiterplatte des Hiraga MC Nachbaus

Bestückte Leiterplatte des Hiraga MC Nachbaus

Aus einer Menge von 50 Stück habe ich 2 Paare annähernd gleicher Transistoren durch Messung der Stromverstärkung ermittelt. Die Paare sind dann – wie man unschwer auf dem Photo oben erkennen kann – auf der Leiterplatte thermisch gekoppelt worden. Dazu habe ich die Stirnfläche eines Transistors dünn mit Wärmeleitpaste bestrichen und anschließend beide mit einem Stück Schrumpfschlauch verbunden. Bei einer ersten schnellen Überprüfung an einem Labornetzgerät als Spannungsquelle ließen sich beide Eingänge auf wenige µV mit einem Agilent Tischmultimeter abgleichen.

Betriebsspannungsversorgung

06.05.2010

Die meisten Nutzer des Hiraga Prepre setzen zur Betriebsspannungsversorgung Batterien ein. Diesen Weg wollte ich erst einmal nicht beschreiten und habe mich für einen Shunt-Regulator entschieden. Es ist das erste Mal das ich einen solchen Typ von Spannungsregler in meinen Schaltungen einsetze und so beschränkte sich meine Erfahrung des Verhaltens eines solchen Reglers auf die Spice Simulation.

Bei dem Design habe ich mich weitestgehend an einen Schaltungsvorschlag von Erno Borbely gehalten, der in dem Artikel

  • Shunt or Not
    Are Waagbø
    audioXpress, 02/08

beschrieben wurde. Ich wollte einen eher simplen und vollständig diskreten Aufbau des Regler einsetzen und so habe ich mich für den Simple Shunt Regulator with Constant Current Source entschieden.

Wie immer ist der Aufbau des Netzteils in Dual-Mono Bauweise ausgeführt. Nach dem Trafo, dem diskret mit Ultrafast Soft Recovery Dioden aufgebauten Gleichrichtern und den ersten Siebelko’s (4× 22000µF) schließen sich Stromquellen an die auf ca. 10mA ausgelegt sind. Die Hiraga MC verbraucht ca. 1mA aus der positiven und ca. 2mA aus der negativen Betriebsspannung und somit liegen die Stromquellen weit über den Empfehlungen – etwa zweifachen Strom des Verbrauchers – für die Auslegung bei einem Shunt-Regulator.

Am Ausgangs der Regler sitzen 3300µF Panasonic FC Elko’s. Anschließend daran befinden sich im Gehäuse der MC Stufe noch 4× 100000µF Elko’s unterstützt von 10µF Wima MKP4 Kondensatoren. Auf der Leiterplatte des Hiraga MC selbst sind noch einmal 12× 2200µF Panasonic FC Elko’s untergebracht. Letztendlich beläuft sich die Gesamtkapazität hinter den Reglern auf nominal 439640µF – dies entspricht vielleicht nicht ganz den Vorstellungen von J. Hiraga, aber ich denke für einen ersten Aufbau ist es mehr als ausreichend. Zudem ist der Shunt Regulator in einem separaten Gehäuse untergebracht und könnte demzufolge leicht durch Batterien ersetzt werden.


Dual Mono Shunt Regulator

Dual Mono Shunt Regulator

Ein wesentlicher Aspekt bei der Entscheidung gegen eine Versorgung mit Batterien sind meine Erfahrungen mit der Pass XOno. Dieser Phono Vorverstärker benötigt sehr lange Zeit um einen stabilen Arbeitspunkt zu erreichen und so schalte ich ihn nie ab – genau dies habe ich auch mit der Hiraga MC vor. Der Stromverbrauch ist so niedrig das man den Verstärker am besten einfach durchlaufen läßt und dafür benötigt man eben ein Netzteil.

Einbau in die Gehäuse

07.05.2010

Wie oben schon angedeutet erstreckt sich der gesamte Hiraga MC Vorvorverstärker über 2 Gehäuse – Audio und Betriebsspannung. Die Gehäuse stammen von HI-FI 2000, aus deren Produktpalette ich mich für die Galaxy Maggiorato mit einer Größe von 330mm × 280mm × 80mm (B×T×H) mit 10mm dicker Frontplatte entschieden habe.

Auf dem Bild unten ist das Audio Gehäuse von vorn – Frontplatte nicht montiert – zu sehen. Auf den beiden Seitenteilen sind die Leiterplatten mit den 100mF Elko’s und den 10µF MKP4 montiert. Vor der Rückwand sitzt der eigentliche Vorvorverstärker.


Hiraga MC Vorverstärker im Gehäuse

Hiraga MC Vorverstärker im Gehäuse

Nachfolgend ist das Gehäuse mit dem Shunt Regulator zu sehen.


Dual Mono Shunt Regulator im Gehäuse

Dual Mono Shunt Regulator im Gehäuse

Auf der Rückseite des Vorvorverstärkers finden sich die Cinch Ein- und Ausgänge, der Anschluß für das Massekabel des Tonarms / Laufwerks, eine Erdungsbuchse und eine siebenpolige DIN Buchse für die Zuführung der Betriebsspannungen. Der Schalter auf der linken Seite schaltet den Anschluß für das Massekabel entweder auf die Masse der Betriebsspannung oder auf die zugeführte Erde.

Am Power Supply Gehäuse findet sich natürlich eine Eingangsbuchse für die 230V/AC Zuführung, einen Einschalter und eine Sicherung. Auf der rechten Seite ist eine siebenpolige DIN Buchse zu sehen über die die Betriebsspannung ausgegeben wird.


Rückseite Hiraga MC und Power Supply

Rückseite Hiraga MC und Power Supply