AA / Active Absorber

this project / page is under construction

 

Table of Contents

Introduction

2016/10/31

At the time I first met my friend Heiner in 2013 I also heard for the first time a big horn system with active digital crossovers with room corrections included – an unforgettable experience. End of 2013 we measured my listening room. The measurement showed me quite plainly that I have to do something – specially in the frequency range below 100Hz.

A longer time I engaged myself with passive possibilities e.g. Helnholtz resonators, but I became not confident with such constructions. The operation frequency is defined from the geometry factors and correspondingly the tuning is quite complex. Besides that the constructions become to big for my small listening room.

Mid of 2015 we had a break through with an article from Nelson Pass from 1988 which described an active absorber (AA). At that time such a product was available from the company Phantom Acoustics, in their advertising brochure you can find citations about patents back to the 1950th. Also today we know at least one company – Bag End with their product E-trap – where you can buy an active absorber. But in our opinion the pure analog solution has restricted possibilities.

We decided to build our own system with a DSP board integrated in the design. This gives us much more possibilities to influence the behaviour of the AA.

Description of the Hardware

2018/08/18

At the beginning of the signal chain a mircophone with an omnidirectional characteristics is mounted in the front of the AA. Following by a microphone preamplifier to bring the signal to the input level of a miniDSP 2×4 HD. At the output of the DSP board an additional analog stage brings the signal to the input level of the 100W/8Ω power amplifier modul. The amplifier drives a 12″ bass loadspeaker in a closed housing.

During the commissioning of the electronic all levels of the components were adjusted. To set the correct level of the complete system for the room an external volume regulator is available. For the adjustment of the acoustical behavior you have to measure the room and consequentially program the DSP.

Prototype of the Active Absorber

Prototype of the Active Absorber

Absorber Electronic Revision 2

After 2 prototypes have been working successfully in two rooms for more than a year now, we have decided to build a final version of the electronics. The main difference to the design described above is the elimination of a miniDSP board and therefore the use of an own DSP chip. We have also included a microcontroller in the concept. All general settings can now be made with the μC using a rotary encoder and a display. The DSP is programmed independently from the μC, there is a corresponding programming interface on the board.

Active Absorber Electronic Rev. 2

Active Absorber Electronic Rev. 2

Calibration of the Absorber

2016/11/02

Since a long time Heiner makes use of Acourate from AudioVero for his acoustical room measurements. For his system he uses this software to optimize the filter of his digital frequency crossovers and to determine the settings for the room corrections. Acourate is a very powerful tool, you can measure amoung a lot of other things the reverberation time already from 30Hz upwards.

My listening room has a classical rectangular shape. The Quads stands about 1m before the longer side wall and they are bent in the direction of the listening position. We placed the active absorber in the left room corner behind the Stacked Quad. With its front it is oriented parallel to the above mentioned side wall. From my listening position I theoretical look at the right side panel of the AA, but in reality the Quad hide the AA.

As a starting point for the DSP programming we took the signal from the microphone and send it inverted to the power amplifier. On the graph below you can find the measurement results. The x axis shows the frequency between 20Hz…200Hz and the y axis the reverberation time in seconds. The green curve is the measurement result without the AA and the red the result with the AA including the above described setting of the DSP.

First Measurement of the Reverberation Time with the AA

First Measurement of the Reverberation Time with the AA

We got a degradation of the reverberation time, for my listening room it shall placed between the two dotted lines. But the measurement also showed that the AA is working generally.

After several series of measurements we achieved at least an optimum for my listening room. The result outperformed all of our expectations.

Measurement of the Reverberation Time with a calibrated AA

Measurement of the Reverberation Time with a calibrated AA

Conclusion :
Nevermore listening to my system without the AA !!! The bass is very clean and unbelievable precise. Furthermore the sound in the frequency range above the bass is no longer covered from a booming bass and became much better listenable.

AA / Aktiver Absorber

this project / page is under construction

 

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Einleitung

29.10.2016

Als ich meinen Freund Heiner 2013 kennen lernte hörte ich zum ersten Mal bewußt eine Anlage die mit aktiver Raumkorrektur arbeitet – ein unvergessliches Erlebnis. Ende 2013 haben wir dann meinen Hörraum vermessen und mir wurde meßtechnisch vor Augen geführt das ich etwas tun mußte – insbesondere im Frequenzbereich unterhalb von ca. 100Hz.

Ich habe mich eine längere Zeit mit passiven Möglichkeiten wie z.B. Helmholtz Resonatoren beschäftigt, war aber nie wirklich überzeugt von solchen Konstruktionen. Die Einsatzfrequenz wird über Geometriegrößen bestimmt und entsprechend aufwändig ist die Abstimmung auf den Raum. Zudem werden sie in dem Frequenzenbereich in dem ich sie benötige für meinem kleinen Hörraum auch einfach zu groß.

Der Durchbruch kam Mitte 2015 mit einem Artikel von Nelson Pass aus dem Jahr 1988 in dem ein aktiver Absorber (AA) beschrieben wurde. Es gab sogar ein entsprechendes Produkt von der Firma Phantom Acoustics, in dessen Werbeprospekte werden Patente zurückgehend bis in die 1950er Jahren zitiert. Auch heute gibt es mit der E-trap von Bag End zumindest ein fertiges Produkt zu kaufen, dessen rein analoge Lösung nach unserer Vorstellung in ihren Möglichkeiten aber eingeschränkt ist.

Wir beschlossen ein solches System zu bauen und einen DSP mit seinen vielfältigen Möglichkeiten in den Signalweg zu integrieren.

Beschreibung der Hardware

30.10.2016

Am Anfang des Signalweges sitzt ein Mikrofon mit Kugelcharakteristik das in die Front des AA’s eingebaut ist. Das Signal dieses Mikrofons wird von einem Mikrofonverstärker auf den Eingangspegel eines miniDSP 2×4 HD gebracht. Am Ausgang des DSP-Boards sitzt eine weitere analoge Stufe zur Anpassung an die Pegel des Endstufenmoduls. Am Ende der elektronischen Kette befindet sich dann die Endstufe mit einer Ausgangsleistung von ca. 100W/8Ω die einen 30cm Bass-Treiber in einem geschlossenen Gehäuse antreibt.

Zum Abgleich der Elektronik müssen die einzelnen Komponenten im Pegel aufeinander abgestimmt werden, dies geschieht während der Inbetriebnahme am Labortisch. Für die Anpassung an den Raum ist ein Pegelregler vorgesehen. Der Abgleich für die akustischen Maßnahmen geschieht durch Messungen des Raumes mit entsprechender Meßtechnik und die daraus resultierende Programmierung des DSP’s.

Prototyp des Aktiven Absorbers

Prototyp des Aktiven Absorbers

Einmessung des Absorbers

29.10.2016

Schon seit langer Zeit verwendet Heiner für seine Raummessungen Acourate von AudioVero als Meßsoftware. Für sein System optimiert er damit die Filter der digitalen Frequenzweichen und korrigiert die Raumantwort. Acourate ist ein sehr mächtiges Werkzeug mit dessen Hilfe man unter anderem die Nachhallzeit schon ab 30Hz messen kann.

Mein Hörraum ist klassisch rechteckig aufgebaut. Die Quads stehen ca. 1m vor einer Längswand und sind auf den Hörplatz eingewinkelt. Den aktiven Absorber haben wir in die rechte Raumecke hinter der Stacked Quad plaziert. Mit seiner Front ist er parallel zur Längswand ausgerichtet. Vom Hörplatz aus würde ich also auf die rechte Seitenwand schauen – wenn der AA nicht von der Quad verdeckt wäre.

Als erste Einstellung des DSP’s haben wir das vom Mikrofon aufgenommene Signal einfach invertiert der Endstufe des AA zugeführt. Im nachfolgenden Bild ist das Ergebnis zu sehen. Auf der x-Achse ist die Frequenz zwischen 20Hz…200Hz und auf der y-Achse die Nachhallzeit in Sekunden aufgetragen. Die grüne Kurve ist die Messung des Raumes ohne AA und die rote das Ergebnis mit der oben beschriebenen Einstellung des AA.

Erste Messung der Nachhallzeit mit AA

Erste Messung der Nachhallzeit mit AA

Man sieht sehr schön die Verschlechterung der Nachhallzeit – sie sollte für meinen Hörraum innerhalb der gestrichelten Linien verlaufen. Diese Messung zeigt aber auch das der AA grundsätzlich funktioniert.

Nach diversen Versuchen und Meßreihen hatten wir ein Optimum für meinen Hörraum erreicht. Das Ergebnis übertraf alle unsere Erwartungen.

Messung der Nachhallzeit mit eingemessenem AA

Messung der Nachhallzeit mit eingemessenem AA

Fazit :
Nie mehr ohne aktiven Absorber hören !!! Der Bass ist sehr trocken und kommt mit einer unglaublichen Präzision. Zudem werden Töne in den darüber liegenden Frequenzbereichen nicht mehr von einem dröhnenden Bass überdeckt und sind wesentlich besser hörbar.