The RQM Loadspeaker System

this project / page is under construction

 

Table of Contents

Introduction

2016/01/29

At the beginning of the 80th I had the pleasure to hear the famous HQD loudspeaker system from Mark Levinson. It was an active 3 way system with driver components from the companies Hartley, Quad and Decca. Two Quad ESL 57 were mounted on top of each other in a stand which are responsible for the frequencies between 100Hz and 7kHz. The frequencies above 7kHz are reproduced with a Decca ribbon tweeter modified by ML (without the horn) located between the two electrostatic speakers. For the bass below 100Hz two 24″ subwoofer systems from Hartley were used. Some ML LNC-2 active mono frequency crossovers and a couple of class A power amplifiers ML-2 are also part of the system.

I had a strong impression from this great listening experience, especially because I was at that time already an owner of Stacked Quads. When I started with the assembly of my subwoofer in 2008 it was clear for me that at the end I have my own interpretation of the HQD system. At least it became a RQM system with the following components

  • RiPol subwoofer with a frequency range up to 125Hz
  • Quad ESL 57 in a stacked configuration, frequency range from 125Hz up to 7kHz
  • Mundorf AMT 1908c Air Motion Transformer for all frequencies above 7kHz

In contrast to the original system I have only a mono subwoofer in use, this is more than enough for my small listening room.

To split the frequencies I have a self developed active crossover with 24dB Linkwitz-Riley filter. For the Quads I use 2× ES4 (XA30.5 clones – one channel per speaker) and for the Mundorfs I take one of my ES2 (Aleph J clone). The RiPol I drive very successful since years with the ES3 (Hypex Class D amp).

RiPol

2016/02/02

All informations to assemble a RiPol you find on my page for this really exceptional subwoofer.


Front View of the Finished RiPol

Front View of the Finished RiPol

Meanwhile I operate the RiPol without the passive compensation circuit. The two 30cm drivers are directly connected to my Hypex power amp. The necessary suppression of the resonance frequencies at approx. 300Hz takes place in the SubDSP.

Das RQM Lautsprecher System

this project / page is under construction

 

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Einleitung

07.07.2013

Anfang der 1980er Jahre hatte ich das Glück das berühmte HQD-System von Mark Levinson hören zu dürfen. Bei diesem System handelte es sich um ein aktives Dreiwegesystem mit Lautsprecherkomponenten der Firmen Hartley, Quad und Decca. Pro Kanal wurden zwei in einem Ständer übereinander angeordnete Quad ESL 57 verwendet die für den Übertragungsbereich von 100Hz bis 7kHz verantwortlich waren. Die Wiedergabe der Frequenzen oberhalb von 7kHz erfolgte durch einen von ML modifizierten Decca Bändchenhochtöner (ohne Hornvorsatz) der zwischen den Quads angeordnet wurde. Für den Tieftonbereich kamen zwei 24″ Subwoofer Systeme von Hartley zum Einsatz. Weitere Bestandteile des Systems waren die aktiven Mono Frequenzweichen ML LNC-2 und die Class A Endstufen ML-2.

Dieses Hörerlebnis hat mich nachhaltig geprägt, zumal ich zu dem Zeitpunkt schon Besitzer von Stacked Quads war. Als ich 2008 mit dem Aufbau des Subwoofers begann war für mich klar das ich im Endausbau meine eigene Implementierung des HQD-Systems anstrebe. Geworden ist daraus ein RQM-System mit den folgenden Komponenten

  • RiPol Subwoofer mit einem Übertragungsbereich bis 100Hz
  • Quad ESL 57 in einer Stacked Konfiguration, Übertragungsbereich 100Hz bis 7,5kHz
  • Mundorf AMT 1908c Air Motion Transformer für die Frequenzen oberhalb von 7,5kHz

Im Gegensatz zum Originalsystem verwende ich nur einen Mono-Subwoofer, der allerdings für meinen kleinen Hörraum mehr als ausreichend ist.

Für die Aufteilung der Frequenzen sorgt eine aktive Frequenzweiche aus eigener Entwicklung mit symmetrischen 24dB Linkwitz-Riley Filtern. Die Quads werden durch zwei ES4 (XA30.5 Nachbauten) und die Mundorfs durch eine ES2 (Aleph J Nachbau) angetrieben. Der RiPol wird wie gehabt von der ES3 versorgt.

RiPol

03.03.2014

Alle Informationen zum Aufbau des RiPol’s sind auf meiner Seite über diesen wirklich außergewöhnlichen Subwoofer zu finden.


Ansicht des RiPol's von schräg vorn

Ansicht des RiPol’s von schräg vorn

Mittlerweile betreibe ich den RiPol ohne die passive Kompensationsschaltung. Die beiden 30cm Treiber sind somit direkt mit meiner Hypex Endstufe verbunden. Die notwendige Unterdrückung der Resonanzfrequenzen bei ca. 300Hz finden in der aktiven Frequenzweiche mit Hilfe eines Notch-Filters statt und sind dort Teil des Bass-Kanals.