HA1 / Headphone Amplifier

HA1 Headphone Amplifier

Table of Contents

Introduction

2015/12/10

An the age of 15 I started with my audiophile hobby and bought my first equipment. At that time I had neither the money nor the room for a loadspeaker. As a consequence I used a headphone to listen to the music – an electrostatical Jecklin Float. With this remarkable head loadspeaker I heard many wonderful hours music.

At the Analog Forum 2013 of the AAA I had the pleasure to hear with a serious headphone after a long time – a Sennheiser HD800 – and I was immediately excited from this form of music listening. Since then I thought about a design for a headphone amplifier which I want to build.

back to the top of the page

Description of the Hardware

2016/01/17

In the last two years I analysed a lot of concepts and at the end I decided to use a relative simple design based on integrated circuits. Due to my very positive experience with the OPA627 in my active crossover I designed a circuit around this operational amplifier. The basic topology of the amplifier is a normal not inverted type and therefore a of different operational amplifiers as a replacement are also possible.

230V/AC Supply

The 230V/AC supply is connected to the flat male tabs J2 and J3. The earth is connected to J4. Directly after the input of the phase follows the fuse F5. It is responsible to safeguard the whole headphone circuit and shall have the lowest selectivity. The X2 capacitors C44, C47 and C48 act as an interference suppression for the mains voltage. With C43, C45 and BR1 potentially DC portions of the line voltages are filtered out (C46 are not populated). The ground of the analog circuit is connected with R15, D10, D11 and C49 to earth.

Power Supply

The power supply – as usually in my designs – is totally oversized and is build in a dual mono topology. A common headphone with a 6.3mm plug has a combined ground for both channels and therefore I connected the two grounds of the power supply together. Both supplies are identical and so I have to describe only one channel below.

Per channel a 25VA toroidal transformer is used. For the secondary outputs I use fuses because the transformer is not short-circuit proofed. Directly thereafter snubber networks are placed (R1, C1, C2 and R2, C11, C12). They damp the resonance circuit – inductance of the secondary winding and junction barrier capacitance of the diodes. The alternating voltage is than rectified with a discrete bridge rectifier build with ultra-fast soft-recovery diodes.

After the 2× 22mF reservoir capacitors the operating voltage is generated with classical fixed voltage regulators. I installed types from New Japan Radio (NJM7815 / NJM7915). At the output of the regulators I use 4× 4.7mF Panasonic FC capacitors. The LED’s are used as an optical control for the operating voltage. They get their power from the unregulated supply.

Amplifier

Of course both channels are identical and therefore I describe only the left channel below.

There are 2 inputs available. At LK1 a single ended and at LK2 a symmetrical source can be connected. The symmetrical input signal is transformed into a single ended signal with IC6 (INA134). With the relay Rel1 the input signal is selected.

The selected signal of the relay is routed to the connector J1. One half of the external Alps stereo potentiometer (50kΩ logarithmic) is connected with J1. The amplification of the voltage take place with IC5 (OPA627) and the output current is delivered from the buffer IC7 (LKE49600). The feedback for IC5 is taken from the output of IC7 and therefore both integrated circuits building one amplifier block. With the help of the DIP switch different amplification factors can be selected (3dB, 10dB and 20dB). The circuit around the OP177 (IC8) is the servo loop of the amplifier. It guarantees that no DC voltage at the output is available and a coupling capacitor is not needed.


Complete Board of the Headphone Amplifier HA1

Complete Board of the Headphone Amplifier HA1

back to the top of the page

Assembly of the Case

2016/04/11

As always in the last years I used a case from Modushop / Hi-Fi 2000 from Italy. The machining I have done by myself with a Datron M35 milling machine. All electrical components are located on the board of the headphone amplifier and therefore only the needed external operating elements and connectors have to placed additionally in the case.


Front Side of the Headphone Amplifier

Front Side of the Headphone Amplifier

On the picture above you see that I have used instead of a 6.3mm headphone connector a 4-pole XLR female connector. I modificate my headphone with such a plug so that I can use it also with a bridge amplifier. Apart from that the handling of the amplifier is very easy corresponding to the circuit. On the left side of the front you find the power switch and the input selector. On the right side the volume actuator. In the middle of the front above the headphone output a power LED is mounted.


Back Side of the Headphone Amplifier

Back Side of the Headphone Amplifier

The rear side is also very simple. Two inputs – symmetrical and unsymmetrical – and the main socket is all what is needed for this amp.


Ansicht von hinten in das geöffnete Gehäuse

View from Behind in the Open Cabinet

HA1 / Verstärker für Kopfhörer

HA1 Kopfhörerverstärker

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Einleitung

08.12.2015

Mit 15 Jahren fing ich mit dem audiophilen Hobby an und erstand meine erste Anlage. Zu der Zeit hatte ich weder das Geld noch den Platz für Lautsprecher und so hörte ich mit einem Kopfhörer – einem Jecklin Float Elektrostaten. Mit diesem außergewöhnlichen Kopflautsprecher verbinden mich sehr positive Erinnerungen und ich habe sehr viele schöne Stunden Musik damit gehört.

Auf dem Analog Forum 2013 der AAA hatte ich das Vergnügen seit längerer Zeit mal wieder einen wirklich ernsthaften Kopfhörer hören zu können – einen Sennheiser HD800 – und war sofort wieder begeistert von dieser Art der Musikübertragung. Deshalb reifte in mir der Entschluß einen eigenen Kopfhörerverstärker zu konzipieren.

Beschreibung der Hardware

17.01.2016

In den gut zwei Jahren habe ich viele Konzepte durchgedacht. Letztendlich entschied ich mich für ein relativ einfaches Design basierend auf integrierten Schaltkreisen. Auf Grund meiner sehr positiven Erfahrungen mit dem OPA627 in meiner Frequenzweiche entwarf ich die Schaltung rund um diesen Operationsverstärker. Da dieser Baustein als normaler nicht-invertierender Verstärker verschaltet ist lassen sich natürlich auch viele andere Typen einsetzen.

230V/AC Versorgung

Die 230V/AC Versorgung wird an die Flachstecker J2 und J3 angeschlossen. Die Erde wird mit J4 verbunden. Direkt am Eingang der Phase folgt die Sicherung F5. Sie ist für die Absicherung der gesamten Schaltung zuständig und sollte von der Selektivität am unempfindlichsten sein. Die X2 Kondensatoren C44, C47 und C48 dienen zur Entstörung der Netzspannung. Mit C43, C45 und BR1 werden eventuelle DC-Anteile in der Netzspannung herausgefiltert (C46 ist nicht bestückt). Mit R15, D10, D11 und C49 wird die Erde definiert mit der (Signal-) Masse verbunden. An J5 kann eine externe LED zur Betriebsspannungsanzeige angeschlossen werden.

Netzteil

Das Netzteil ist – wie in den meisten meiner Designs – völlig überdimensioniert und ist als Dual Mono Power Supply ausgelegt. Da ein üblicher Kopfhörer mit 6,3mm Stecker eine gemeinsame Masse für beide Kanäle verdrahtet hat sind allerdings die Massen der beiden Netzteile miteinander verbunden. Beide Netzteile sind identisch und so beschreibe ich hier nur den einen Kanal.

Pro Kanal kommt ein 25VA Ringkerntrafo zum Einsatz. Die sekundärseitigen Spannungen sind mit Sicherungen versehen da der Trafo nicht kurzschlußfest ist. Es schließen sich für beide Ausgangswicklungen Snubber Netzwerke an (R1, C1, C2 und R2, C11, C12) die den Schwingkreis – Induktivität der Sekundärwicklung und Sperrschicht-Kapazitäten der Gleichrichterdioden – bedämpfen. Die beiden Wechselspannungen werden dann von einem diskreten Brückengleichrichter mit Ultra-Fast Soft-Recovery Dioden gleichgerichtet.

Die symmetrische Betriebsspannung wird nach den 2× 22mF Ladeeleko’s mit klassischen Festspannungsreglern auf ±15V geregelt. Ich setze hier Typen von New Japan Radio ein (NJM7815 / NJM7915). Als Ausgangskondensatoren kommen 4× 4,7mF Panasonic FC Kondensatoren zum Einsatz. Zur optischen Kontrolle für die Betriebsspannung dienen LED’s die von der ungeregelten Betriebsspannung versorgt werden.

Verstärker

Da auch hier beide Kanäle identisch aufgebaut sind beschreibe ich im folgenden wieder nur den linken Kanal.

Es sind 2 Eingänge vorhanden. An LK1 wird eine unsymmetrische und an LK2 eine symmetrische Quelle angeschlossen. Das symmetrische Eingangssignal wird durch IC6 (INA134) in ein unsymmetrisches Signal umgesetzt. Mit Rel1 wird mit Hilfe eines externen Schalters an J6 das Eingangssignal ausgewählt.

An das Relais schließt sich die Buchse J1 an. Hiermit wird eine Hälfte eines externe Alps Stereo Potentiometer (50kΩ logarithmisch) verbunden. Mit dem Potentiometer wird die Lautstärke eingestellt. Die Verstärkung der Signalspannung geschieht mit IC5 (OPA627) und der Ausgangsstrom wird vom Buffer IC7 (LME49600) geliefert. Beide IC’s bilden eine Einheit da die Rückkopplung für IC5 hinter dem Buffer abgegriffen wird. Mit Hilfe des DIP-Schalters lassen sich unterschiedliche Verstärkungsfaktoren (hier ca. 3dB, 10dB und 20dB) einstellen. Die Schaltung rund um den OP177 (IC8) ist ein Servo-Regler der für eine DC freie Ausgangsspannung sorgt. Damit läßt sich auf einen Koppelkondensator am Ausgang verzichten.

Bestückte Leiterplatte des Kopfhörerverstärkers HA1

Bestückte Leiterplatte des Kopfhörerverstärkers HA1

Einbau in ein Gehäuse

11.04.2016

Wie immer in den letzten Jahren verwendete ich ein Gehäuse von Modushop / Hi-Fi 2000 aus Italien. Die Bearbeitung habe ich auch wieder selbst mit Hilfe einer Datron M35 Fräsmaschine durchgeführt. Auf der Leiterplatte des Kopfhörerverstärkers sind alle Komponenten untergebracht und so müssen zusätzlich in das Gehäuse nur noch die benötigten Bedienelemente und Steckverbinder eingebaut werden.

Front des Kopfhörerverstärkers

Front des Kopfhörerverstärkers

Auf dem Bild oben sieht man das ich an Stelle einer 6,3mm Klinkenbuchse eine 4-polige XLR-Buchse eingebaut habe. Meinen Kopfhörer habe ich auf einen solchen Stecker umgebaut um ihn mit einem Brückenverstärker betreiben zu können. Ansonsten ist die Bedienung entsprechend der Schaltung sehr einfach gehalten. Links auf der Frontplatte findet sich der Einschalter, direkt daneben der Drehschalter für die Eingänge und auf der rechten Seite die Einstellung der Lautstärke. In der Mitte oberhalb des Kopfhöreranschlusses ist die Betriebsspannungsleuchte untergebracht.


Rückseite des Kopfhörerverstärkers

Rückseite des Kopfhörerverstärkers

Die Rückseite ist sehr einfach aufgebaut. Die beiden Eingänge – symmetrisch und unsymmetrisch – und die Netzbuchse sind alles was der Kopfhörerverstärker benötigt.


Ansicht von hinten in das geöffnete Gehäuse

Ansicht von hinten in das geöffnete Gehäuse