ES3 / Hypex UcD400HG Amplifier

ES3 / Hypex UcD400HG Amplifier

 

Table of Contents

Introduction

2010/07/03

For my Ripol subwoofer I need an amplifier with enough power (≥ 150W/4Ω). At the beginning of my considerations the Hypex UcD400 modul was my favourite. But I felt a little bit discomfort with the class D mode at that time. I than started to design a class AB amplifier with the schematics of the Pass X5 as a basis (Spice simulation, schematic and PCB). At the beginning of 2009 I had the luck to buy a low priced UcD400HG module and therefore I want to give this technology a chance as a subwoofer amplifier.

On the Hypex homepage you can read the following features and datas:

Features

  • Flat, fully load-independent frequency response
  • Low output impedance
  • Very low, frequency-independent THD
  • Very low noise
  • Consistent top performer in listening trials including class A and SET amplifiers
  • Runs on unregulated ± rails
  • Pop-free start and stop control
  • Differential audio input
  • Overcurrent and overvoltage
  • HxR regulator ready

Technology
The UcD™ circuit is based on phase-shift controlled self-oscillation, with only a single voltage feedback control loop taking off at the loudspeaker terminals. The control function is constructed fully out of passive components, with only the comparator standing in for gain.

ItemSymbolSpec.Notes
Output PowerPR400W4Ω, THD = 1%
DistortionTHD≤0.03% typ.
≤0.005% typ.
P0 < ½PR
P0 = 1W
NoiseUn30µV typ.
Frequency Response<10Hz – 50kHz+0dB, -3dB
Output ImpedanceZ0<20mΩ
<150mΩ
f = 1kHz
f = 20kHz
Efficiencyη>92%
Supply Ripple RejectionPSRR65dBboth rails

The UcD400HG module has the ideal operation parameters for my Ripol subwoofer and also his differential signal input fits very good in my overall concept.


Hypex UcD400HG top view

     

Hypex UcD400HG bottom view

Hypex UcD400HG module (top & bottom view)

HxR Modules

2010/07/03

As an option for the above described Hypex modules you get the voltage regulator modules HRP12 and HNR12 from Hypex. The suppliers itself wrote

The HxR series regulators are high performance voltage regulating components targeted at performance-critical audio applications. Key performance parameters exceed that of industry-standard integrated circuits by several orders of magnitude. Kelvin sense connections provide point-of-load (local) regulation without requiring physical proximity.

I don’t want to build the input cable by myself and bought the UcD signal cable direct from Hypex. This was a good possibility also to order both HxR modules as an add-on for my UcD400HG amplifier.


Hypex UcD400HG mit HxR Module

Hypex UcD400HG mit HxR Module

Power Supply

2010/07/03

I use a classical power supply here. The symmetrical secondary voltage of the 600VA toroidal transformer is rectified from a bridge rectifier (D1…D4) and buffered by an overall capacity of approximately 88000µF (C1…C6). At the output of the power supply I use 2 fuses (4A fast), this is described in the specification for the modul from Hypex. R1 and J8 is used to connect a LED. R2, D5, D6 and C7 connects the ground with earth to avoid ground loops.

Remote Switch with Inrush Current Limiter

2010/07/03

Bigger toroidal transformers (from approximately 500VA) have too much inrush current for normal fuses. Therefore it is needed to limit the current during a short time directly after the switch-on. With the circuit I describe here the power amplifier is switched on – direct or with a remote signal – and the inrush current is limited for a short time.

The amplifier is switched on with relay Rel1 or with a manual power switch connected between J3/J4 and J7/J8. The relay Rel2 is directly after power on not switched and therefore the overall current is limited through the resistors R1…R4 to approximately 5.75A. With C1, BR1 and R7 the capacitor C2 is slowly charged and after the voltage exceed the switching on threshold of the relay Rel2 the current limiting resistors are bypassed.

Relay Rel1 is switched on with a remote voltage. This voltage must be permanent available during normal operation of the amplifier – if the manual switch is not in use – and it should not be lower than 9V. This remote voltage is connected to J13 and is stabilized with the voltage regulator IC1 to 6V.

Every device in the remote chain creates his own remote output signal to switch on the next system. This signal is delayed to approximately 3s. This guaranteed that all devices in the chain are not switched on at the same time so that the overall inrush current is low enough.

For the remote voltage a 9V/AC signal at J16/J17 is needed. It is rectified with BR1 and buffered with C8. The capacitor C10 is slowly charged via R10 and opens bipolar transistor Q3 via R13 and so MOSFET Q1 after a short time (around 3s). R8 limits the output current with the help of Q2 (Iout = UBE / R8).


Remote Switch with Inrush Current Limiter

Remote Switch with Inrush Current Limiter

Assembly of the Amplifier

2010/07/03

For the first commissioning and test I build up the complete amplifier on a wooden plate. On the picture below you find at the left top the Hypex module mounted on a heat sink. Underneath the compensation network for the RiPol subwoofer is placed. This network is electrically wired between the output of the amplifier and the input of the subwoofer. In the middle of the plate the 600VA toroidal transformer is assembled. Above the transformer the power supply with the bridge rectifier and the four 22000μF electrolytic capacitors is mounted. The board below the transformer is the remote switch.


Prototype of the Hypex Amplifier

Prototype of the Hypex Amplifier

After all needed components are bought and assembled and the prototype was commissioned I started thinking about the enclosure. It should be as small as possible, but I want to place also the RiPol compensation network inside the amp. In the end I found nothing adequate on the market and so I decided to build the enclosure by myself. I have access to a Datron milling machine and therefore it was not so difficult to do that.

The following components of the amplifier have to find a place inside the enclosure :

  • Hypex UcD400HG Modul with HPR12 and HNR12 voltage regulators mounted on a heat sink
  • 600VA toroidal transformer
  • power supply with 88000µF overall capacity
  • 230V/AC DC filter
  • remote switch with inrush current limiter
  • RiPol compensation network
  • connectors for all in- and output signals

The Hypex module is screwed direct on the heat sink. The heat sink itself is mounted with 6× M4 screws at the back plane of the enclosure.


Hypex Module mounted on the Heat Sink (still without the HxR modules)

Hypex Module mounted on the Heat Sink (still without the HxR modules)

The base of the enclosure is build with a 4mm thick aluminium plate. The transformer is mounted on a second plate which is fixed on the base with rubber buffer. This avoids every mechanical noise of the transformer. The power supply board and the DC filter is also screwed on the base.


Inner View of the ES3 Power Amplifier

Inner View of the ES3 Power Amplifier

For the side panels 3mm thick black anodized aluminium plates are used. The board for the remote switch is fixed at the right panel. This gives very short cables for the 230V/AC cabling.

The back panel is build with a 2.5mm thick black anodized aluminium plate. On the left side (front view) all audio connectors are placed. In the center the Hypex module is mounted and on the right side all 230V/AC connectors and the remote in- and output are placed. All electronical components are arranged in a way that the cabling is as short as possible.


Back View of the ES3 Power Amplifier

Back View of the ES3 Power Amplifier

Originally the compensation network for the RiPol should find its place on the left side panel. During the assembly of the enclosure I notice that the inductors of the network produce some noise coming from the electro-magnetic field of the transformer. This is the reason why I decided to use an own enclosure for this network outside of the amplifier.


ES3 Class D Power Amplifier

ES3 Class D Power Amplifier

ES3 / Hypex UcD400HG Endstufe

ES3 / Hypex UcD400HG Endstufe

 

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Einleitung

03.07.2010

Für meinen Ripol Subwoofer benötigte ich eine Endstufe mit ausreichender Ausgangsleistung (≥ 150W) an 4Ω. Zum Beginn meiner Überlegungen war das Hypex UcD400 Modul mein Favorit. Allerdings habe ich immer ein gewisses Unbehagen gegenüber der Klasse D Betriebsweise gehabt. Ich habe dann meine Überlegungen in Richtung einer Klasse AB Endstufe gelenkt und eine Endstufe für den Subwoofer auf Basis der Pass X5 designed (Spice Simulation, Schematic und PCB). Durch Zufall bin ich dann aber Anfang 2009 an ein sehr günstiges UcD400HG Modul gekommen und damit stand natürlich fest das ich dieser Technologie einen Versuch als Subwoofer-Endstufe einräume.

Auf der Seite des Herstellers finden sich die folgenden Angaben zu dem Modul:

Features

  • Flat, fully load-independent frequency response
  • Low output impedance
  • Very low, frequency-independent THD
  • Very low noise
  • Consistent top performer in listening trials including class A and SET amplifiers
  • Runs on unregulated ± rails
  • Pop-free start and stop control
  • Differential audio input
  • Overcurrent and overvoltage
  • HxR regulator ready

Technology
The UcD™ circuit is based on phase-shift controlled self-oscillation, with only a single voltage feedback control loop taking off at the loudspeaker terminals. The control function is constructed fully out of passive components, with only the comparator standing in for gain.

ItemSymbolSpec.Notes
Output PowerPR400W4Ω, THD = 1%
DistortionTHD≤0.03% typ.
≤0.005% typ.
P0 < ½PR
P0 = 1W
NoiseUn30µV typ.
Frequency Response<10Hz – 50kHz+0dB, -3dB
Output ImpedanceZ0<20mΩ
<150mΩ
f = 1kHz
f = 20kHz
Efficiencyη>92%
Supply Ripple RejectionPSRR65dBboth rails

Das UcD400HG Modul ist von seinen Betriebsparametern ideal geeignet um meinen Ripol-Subwoofer zu befeuern und auch der symmetrische Signaleingang paßt sehr gut in mein Konzept.


Hypex UcD400HG Oberseite

     

Hypex UcD400HG Unterseite

Hypex UcD400HG Modul (Ober- & Unterseite)

HxR Module

30.01.2010

Als Option zu dem oben beschriebenen Hypex Modul gibt es noch die beiden Spannungsreglermodule HPR12 und HNR12 von Hypex. Der Hersteller schreibt selbst

The HxR series regulators are high performance voltage regulating components targeted at performance-critical audio applications. Key performance parameters exceed that of industry-standard integrated circuits by several orders of magnitude. Kelvin sense connections provide point-of-load (local) regulation without requiring physical proximity.

Da ich sowieso noch das UcD Signalkabel für das Eingangssignal bei Hypex bestellen mußte habe ich mich entschlossen auch die beiden HxR Module als Erweiterung für mein UcD400HG Verstärker zu ordern.


Hypex UcD400HG mit HxR Module

Hypex UcD400HG mit HxR Module

Netzteil

30.01.2010

Das Netzteil ist ganz klassisch aufgebaut. Die symmetrische Sekundärspannung des 600VA Ringkerntransformators wird von dem Brückengleichrichter (D1…D4) gleichgerichtet und mit einer Gesamtkapazität von ca. 88000µF (C1…C6) gepuffert. Am Ausgang des Netzteils finden sich noch nach Hypex Vorgabe 2 Sicherungen (4A flink). Über R1 kann eine LED angesteuert werden. R2, D5, D6 und C7 verbinden die Masse mit Erde und sorgen dafür das keine Erdschleife entsteht.

Remote Einschaltung mit Rush-Strom Begrenzung

30.01.2010

Da größere Ringkerntransformatoren (ab ca. 500VA) für normale Haussicherungen zu große Einschaltströme (Rush-Ströme) haben, muß man dafür sorgen das der Strom im Einschaltmoment begrenzt wird. Mit Hilfe der hier beschriebenen Schaltung wird die Endstufe eingeschaltet – direkt oder per Remote Signal – und gleichzeitig der maximale Strom für eine kurze Zeit begrenzt.

Die Endstufe wird entweder von dem Relais Rel1 oder von einem Netzschalter zwischen den Klemmen J3/J4 und J7/J8 eingeschaltet. Das Relais Rel2 ist direkt nach Inbetriebnahme nicht geschaltet und so fließt der Strom über die Widerstände R1…R4. Diese begrenzen den Strom auf ca. 5,75A. Über C1, BR1 und R7 wird der Kondensator C2 langsam aufgeladen und schaltet nach Erreichen der Einschaltschwelle des Relais Rel2 dieses ein. Die Strombegrenzungswiderstände werden dann überbrückt.

Relais Rel1 wird über eine Remote Spannung eingeschaltet. Diese muß permanent anstehen und sollte 9V nicht unterschreiten. Diese Spannung gelangt über J13 an den Spannungsregler IC1 der die Spulenspannung auf konstante 6V regelt.

Jedes Gerät in der Remote Kette erzeugt ein eigenes Remote Ausgangssignal mit dem dann die nachfolgende Elektronik eingeschaltet wird. Dieses Signal wird zeitlich verzögert an den Ausgang gelegt (ca. 3s) und garantiert so das alle Geräte zeitlich hintereinander aktiviert werden. Somit ist sichergestellt das der gesamte Einschaltstrom nicht zu groß wird.

Eine unipolare Sekundärspannung von 9V wird an die Klemmen J16/J17 angeschlossen, mit BR2 gleichgerichtet und durch C8 gepuffert. Der Kondensator C10 wird über R10 langsam geladen und schaltet durch R13 den Transistor Q3 und damit auch den MOSFET Q1 zeitversetzt zur Spannung an C8 ein. Q2 und R8 sorgen für eine Begrenzung des Ausgangsstromes (Iout = UBE / R8).


Remote Einschaltung mit Rush-Strom Begrenzung

Remote Einschaltung mit Rush-Strom Begrenzung

Aufbau des Verstärkers

30.01.2010

Für die erste Inbetriebnahme und Tests habe ich den gesamten Verstärker auf eine Holzplatte aufgebaut. Links oben erkennt man das Hypex Modul auf seinem Kühlkörper. Darunter angeordnet ist die Kompensationsschaltung des RiPol Subwoofers die zwischen dem Ausgang des Moduls und dem eigentlichen Verstärkerausgang angeordnet ist. Zentral in der Mitte ist der vergossene 600VA Ringkerntrafo montiert. Darüber befindet sich das Netzteil mit dem Gleichrichter und vier 22000μF Elkos. Die Leiterplatte unterhalb des Trafos ist die oben beschriebene Einschaltelektronik.


Hypex Modul auf seinem Kühlkörper

Prototyp des Hypex Verstärkers

Nachdem alle benötigten Komponenten gekauft und aufgebaut waren und der Prototyp in Betrieb ging, habe ich mir Gedanken über ein Gehäuse gemacht. Dies sollte so klein wie möglich ausfallen, jedoch wollte ich auch die Kompensationsschaltung des RiPol Subwoofers darin unterbringen. Letztendlich habe ich nichts passendes auf dem Markt gefunden und so entschloß ich mich das Gehäuse selbst zu bauen. Da ich ja Zugriff auf eine Datron Fräsmaschine habe, sollte der Bau eines Gehäuses auch nicht allzu schwer werden und das Ergebnis würde sicherlich auch ganz manierlich aussehen.

Die folgenden Komponenten der Endstufe müssen in dem Gehäuse untergebracht werden :

  • Hypex UcD400HG Modul mit HPR12 und HNR12 Spannungsreglern auf einem Kühlkörper montiert
  • 600VA Ringkerntrafo
  • Netzteil mit 88000µF Gesamtkapazität
  • 230V/AC DC-Filter
  • Remote Einschaltung mit Rush-Strom Begrenzung
  • RiPol Kompensationsschaltung
  • Buchsen für alle Ein- und Ausgangssignale

Das Hypex Modul habe ich direkt auf einen Kühlkörper aufgeschraubt, das dann wiederum mit 6× M4 Schrauben an der Rückwand des Gehäuses befestigt wird.


Hypex Modul auf seinem Kühlkörper

Hypex Modul auf seinem Kühlkörper (noch ohne HxR Module)

Die Basis des Gehäuses bildet eine 4mm starke Alu Grundplatte. Mit dieser Platte ist der Trafo mittels gepufferter Abstandshalter auf einer zweiten Montageplatte verschraubt. Dies unterdrückt alle mechanischen Geräusche des Trafos. Auf der Montageplatte ist noch das Netzteil und der DC-Filter befestigt.


Innerer Aufbau des ES3

Innerer Aufbau des ES3

Die Seitenwände bestehen aus 3mm starkem schwarz eloxiertem Alu. Auf der rechten Seitenwand ist die Leiterplatte mit der Remote Einschaltung befestigt. Dies ergibt sehr kurze Leitungen für die 230V/AC Verdrahtung.

Die Rückwand wird von einer 2,5mm starken schwarz eloxierten Alu Platte gebildet. Auf der Rückwand befinden sich auf der linken Seite (von vorn gesehen) die Audio Anschlüsse, in der Mitte ist das eigentliche Hypex Modul montiert und auf der rechten Seite sind die Anschlüsse für die 230V/AC Zuführung und die der Remote Einschaltung. Alle elektronischen Komponenten wurden so angeordnet das die Zuleitungen möglichst kurz ausfallen.


Rückansicht des ES3

Rückansicht des ES3

Die Kompensationsschaltung für den RiPol sollte auf der linken Seitenwand montiert werden. Beim Aufbau stellte sich jedoch heraus das der Trafo in die Spulen einstreute und sich so ein Brumm im RiPol einstellte. Aus diesem Grund konnte die Kompensationsschaltung nicht in dem Gehäuse der Endstufe eingebaut werden und befindet sich folglich in einem eigenen kleinen Gehäuse elektrisch zwischen dem RiPol und der Endstufe angeschlossen.


ES3 Klasse D Leistungsverstärker

ES3 Klasse D Leistungsverstärker