Stacked Quads

Stacked Quads 57

Table of Contents

Introduction

2011/03/01

Since the late seventies I own Quad 57 electrostatic loudspeakers in a stacked configuration. During all the years I heard a lot of wonderful speakers, but never a construction which became dangerous for my beloved Quads. When this loadspeakers are operated with the right power amplifier – and the XA30.5 is definitely one of them – then they are capable to do astonishing things.

Below is a statement of Peter Walker about the Stacked Quads which I have borrowed from the The Quad ESL Homepage :

Another thing people like to do is to use two of our panels, one above the other. This is quite reasonable because it is really a strip source, you can extend the strip source without deteriorating anything. All you do is add 6dB at the bottom and 3 dB everywhere else. It gives you a louder sound, a more impressive sound. That’s all right. Adding woofers has never been very good. [Audio Amateur, 1978]

With the exception of the last sentence – a RiPol had disabused him – I only can confirm his conclusions.

Impedance Curve of the Quad 57

To choose the right power amplifier you can find the following advice in the operational manual of the 57th Quad:

AMPLIFIER REQUIREMENTS
Other amplifiers if they are properly regulated (not more than 33 peak volts with any load) are unlikely to cause damage to the loadspeaker, although they may not necessarily provide the correct performance because of the very strict stability requirements.

The maximum voltage per speaker should not exceed 33Vp. In my setup each individual ESL per channel is driven from one channel of an ES4 switched in Dual-Mono mode. Thus every Quad has 100W at 8Ω output power of it’s own and the maximum output voltage is about 44Vp. If you look at the impedance curve – see above – a power amplifier must be able to drive a load of about 2Ω at 15kHz – very strict stability requirements. Without a doubt the XA30.5 is able to do that, the amp is also able to operate two in parallel connected Quads without any problem – I used the prototypes of the amp in such a setup at the beginning.

A good overview of the advantages of the stacked configuration you find on the The Quad ESL homepage.

Construction of the Frames

2011/03/03

A Stacked Quad consists of two 57th Quad electrostatic speakers per channel (see above) arranged on top of each other in a frame. The lower system is installed upside down. My frames are home made with inputs from different projects and informations from the internet.


Construction Details of the Frames

Construction Details of the Frames


Many thanks to my father, who made the construction of this wonderful frames and who build them !!!

 

Refurbishment

2011/03/03

After my Quads have played for more than 30 years without any problems, I thought it becomes time to do some refurbishment and replacement work. Hereby the most important thing was the replacement of the diodes in the high voltage cascades, because they loose their performance over the time and as a result the output voltages of the cascades is below their nominal values (1.5kV for the high frequency and 6kV for the low frequency panels). Additionally I replaced the poor original speaker connectors. As for the time being last modification I included a high voltage protection for the tweeter panels.

First you have to disassemble the rearward grill to be able to reach the high voltage cascade and the input transformer. As a preparation for this the power of the speaker should be switched off and to be on the save side you have to wait a couple of hours. Afterwards you can remove the screws and get access to the back inside of the electrostatic speaker.

!!! I have switched off the Speaker at the previous Day !!!
Therefore it was secured that the foils are completely discharged.

High Voltage Cascade

The high voltage cascade is a four stages Villard circuit with overall 8 diodes. In this circuit the reverse voltage of the used diodes must be higher than twice the peak voltage of the transformers secundary output voltage. My speakers have the newer design and therefore I have 8 high voltage diodes in the cascade – in difference with the older design with 2 diodes in series and an overall amount of 16 diodes.

For the dismounting of the power supply first of all the earth wiring for the front and back grill have to removed. Afterwards the 3 high voltage cables of the low and high frequency panels and the ground can be desoldered. Please take care, the wires are wrapped and you have to work with the soldering iron near the dust cover. After all cables are removed the fixing screws at the bottom can be disassembled and you can take out the complete power supply.


Power Supply with High Voltage Cascade

Power Supply with High Voltage Cascade

The last thing you have to do before you can disassemble the high voltage cascade from the power supply module is to desolder the two cables of the transformer output voltage at the input of the cascade. Thereafter you can remove the two plastic screws and take out the cascade. The last work step before the exchange of the diodes is the melting of the wax the cascade box is filled with. This you can do with an adequate vessel at around 150°C in a normal baking oven.

Quad ESL High Voltage Cascade, old Diodes     Quad ESL High Voltage Cascade, new Diodes

Quad ESL High Voltage Cascade, old Diodes at the left and new at the right Picture

I replaced the original diodes (left picture above) with two 1N4007 standard diodes connected in series (right picture above) and therefore I got a maximum reverse voltage of 2kV in every stage of the Villard circuit.

Now you have to repeat every work step in a reverse order to assemble the refurbished cascade. Please don’t forget to put the plastic screws inside their holes before you pour the melted wax inside the cascade box. The srew thread is build from the wax during the cool down.


I only can advice every owner of an old Quad to do this exchange,
you have problems to recognize your speaker afterwards again.

Input Transformer

Because my speakers are disassembled I used this possibility to make also small changes in the audio section. All the years I was annoyed from the poor original speaker connectors which I changed during the refurbishment action. I also follow a proposal on Sheldon’s World and integrate an overvoltage protection for the high frequency foil.


Quad ESL Audio Transformer

Quad ESL Audio Transformer

At the picture above you clearly can see the new speaker connectors. To assemble them I have to enlarge the original holes. Also an adaptation of the rearward grill was necessary because of the bigger dimension of the new connectors. Furthermore the overvoltage protection at the input of the high frequency foil is easy to identify. In contrast to the Zener diode chain Quad implements in their later models which shall influence the audio performance negative, the gas discharge surge suppressor CP Clare CG3-1.5L with its extremly high resistance (GΩ) and very low capacitance (pF) is highly neutral.

Stacked Quads

57er Stacked Quads

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Einleitung

23.02.2011

Seit Ende der 1970er Jahre besitze ich 57er Quad Elektrostaten in einer Stacked Konfiguration. In all den Jahren habe ich viele wunderbare Lautsprecher gehört, aber nie war eine Konstruktion darunter die meinen heiß geliebten Elektrostaten letztendlich gefährlich werden konnte. Betreibt man diese Lautsprecher mit den richtigen Endstufen – und die XA30.5 gehört mit Sicherheit dazu – dann sind sie zu Erstaunlichem fähig.

Anbei eine Aussage von Peter Walker zu Stacked Quads die ich mir von der The Quad ESL Homepage entliehen habe :

Another thing people like to do is to use two of our panels, one above the other. This is quite reasonable because it is really a strip source, you can extend the strip source without deteriorating anything. All you do is add 6dB at the bottom and 3 dB everywhere else. It gives you a louder sound, a more impressive sound. That’s all right. Adding woofers has never been very good. [Audio Amateur, 1978]

Mit Ausnahme des letzten Satzes – ein RiPol hätte ihn eines Besseren belehrt – kann ich diese Aussagen nur bestätigen.

Impedanzverlauf der 57er Quad

Für die richtige Auslegung der Endstufe findet sich in der Bedienungsanleitung der 57er Quad der folgende Hinweis:

AMPLIFIER REQUIREMENTS
Other amplifiers if they are properly regulated (not more than 33 peak volts with any load) are unlikely to cause damage to the loadspeaker, although they may not necessarily provide the correct performance because of the very strict stability requirements.

Die maximale Spannung pro Lautsprecher sollte also 33Vp nicht überschreiten. Jeder Lautsprecher wird bei mir einzeln von einem Kanal einer in Dual-Mono geschalteten ES4 angesteuert. Somit steht der einzelnen Quad eine Verstärkerleistung von ca. 100W an 8Ω zur Verfügung und die maximale Spannung beträgt ca. 44Vp. Schaut man sich den Impedanzverlauf an – siehe oben – so muß eine Endstufe bei ca. 15kHz in der Lage sein eine Last von ungefähr 2Ω zu treiben – very strict stability requirements. Die XA30.5 ist dazu ohne Weiteres in der Lage, sie treibt sogar zwei parallel geschaltete ESL’s ohne Probleme – so habe ich die Prototypen dieser Endstufe ja am Anfang betrieben.

Einen guten Überblick über die Vorzüge der Stacked Konfiguration ist auf der Homepage The Quad ESL zu finden.

Konstruktion der Gestelle

23.02.2011

Bei einer Stacked Quad handelt es sich um zwei 57er Quad Elektrostaten pro Kanal (siehe oben) in einem Gestell übereinander angeordnet. Hierbei wird der untere Lautsprecher kopfüber eingebaut. Die Gestelle sind Eigenbauten die an diverse Vorlagen / Projekte aus dem Internet angelehnt sind.


Konstruktionszeichnungen der Gestelle

Konstruktionszeichnungen der Gestelle


Die Konstruktion und der Bau dieser wunderbaren Gestelle sind von meinem Vater durchgeführt worden.

 

Renovierungen

23.02.2011

Nachdem die Quad’s über 30 Jahren störungsfrei bei mir gelaufen waren, ist es meiner Meinung nach mal an der Zeit gewesen ein paar Renovierungen vorzunehmen. Die wichtigste Arbeit dabei war es die Dioden in den Hochspannungskaskaden zu erneuern, da diese mit der Zeit altern und so nicht mehr die nominale Vorpannung an den Folien anliegt (1,5kV Hochton und 6kV Tiefton). Weiterhin habe ich die doch eher bescheidenen originalen Lautsprecherklemmen ersetzt. Als vorläufig letzte Modifikation wurde von mir noch ein Überspannungsschutz für die Hochtonfolie eingebaut.

Um an die Hochspannungskaskade und den Eingangsübertrager heran zu kommen muß das rückwärtige Gitter demontiert werden. Hierzu sollte erst einmal die Netzspannung des Lautsprechers abgeschaltet und zur Sicherheit mindestens 2 Stunden gewartet werden. Anschließend kann man die Schrauben entfernen und hat Zugang zum hinteren Aufbau des Elektrostaten.

!!! Ich habe die Lautsprecher am Vortag abgeschaltet !!!
Somit war sichergestellt das die Folien vollständig entladen waren.

Hochspannungskaskade

Bei der Hochspannungskaskade handelt es sich um eine vierstufige Villard-Schaltung mit insgesamt 8 Dioden. In dieser Schaltung muß die Sperrspannung der eingesetzten Dioden größer als die doppelte Spitzenspannung der Trafo-Sekundärspannung sein. Bei meinen Lautsprechern handelt es sich um das neuere Design und so sind in den Kaskaden auch ingesamt 8 Hochspannungsdioden verbaut worden – im Gegensatz zu dem älteren Design mit 2 Dioden in Reihe, also 16 Dioden insgesamt.

Zum Ausbau des gesamten Netzteils muß man erst einmal die Erdungen der front- und rückseitigen Gitter entfernen. Anschließend lassen sich die drei Kabel für Bass- und Hochton-Vorspannung sowie die Masse ablöten. Hierbei ist Vorsicht geboten da die Drähte gewrappt sind und man sehr nahe an der Staubschutzfolie arbeiten muß. Sind die Kabel getrennt kann man die Befestigungsschrauben lösen und das Netzteil entnehmen.


Netzteil mit Hochspannungskaskade

Netzteil mit Hochspannungskaskade

Damit sich die Hochspannungskaskade endgültig ausbauen läßt, müssen nun noch die beiden Kabel der Sekundärspannung des Transformators vom Eingang der Kaskade abgelötet werden. Anschließend können die beiden Kunststoffschrauben entfernt und die Kaskade abgenommen werden. Der letzte vorbereitende Arbeitsschritt vor dem Austausch der Dioden ist das schmelzen des Wachs mit der die Kaskade vergossen ist. Dies geschieht in einem geeigneten Gefäß bei ca. 150°C im Backofen.

Quad ESL Hochspannungskaskade, alte Dioden     Quad ESL Hochspannungskaskade, neue Dioden

Quad ESL Hochspannungskaskade, alte Dioden links und neue rechts

Die einzelne originale Diode der Hochspannungskaskade (linkes Bild oben) habe ich durch 2 in Reihe geschaltete 1N4007 Standarddioden (rechtes Bild oben) ersetzt und komme so auf eine maximale Sperrspannung von 2kV in jeder Stufe der Villard-Schaltung.

Jetzt werden alle Arbeitsschritte in umgekehrter Reihenfolge wiederholt und somit die erneuerte Kaskade wieder eingebaut. Es ist darauf zu achten das die Schrauben für die Befestigung der Kaskade vor dem vergiessen des heißen Wachses in ihre Löcher gesteckt werden, da sich ihr Gewinde durch den erkaltenden Wachs ausbildet.


Ich kann nur jedem Besitzer einer Quad diese Maßnahme ans Herz legen,
der Lautsprecher ist anschließend fast nicht mehr wiederzuerkennen.

Eingangstransformator

Da ich die Rückwände aller meiner Elektrostaten sowieso schon abgeschraubt hatte, habe ich die Gelegenheit genutzt um auch kleine Änderungen im Audio Bereich vorzunehmen. Mich haben all die Jahre die sehr bescheidenen Lautsprecherklemmen der Quad gestört die ich in dieser Aktion ausgetauscht habe. Weiterhin bin ich einem Vorschlag auf Sheldon’s World gefolgt und habe einen Überspannungsschutz für die Hochtonfolie eingebaut.


Quad ESL Audio Übertrager

Quad ESL Audio Übertrager

Auf dem Bild oben sind deutlich die neuen Lautsprecherklemmen zu erkennen. Um sie einzubauen mußte ich erst einmal die bestehenden Löcher ausbohren und erweitern. Auch eine Anpassung des rückwärtigen Gitters auf die größeren Buchsen war erforderlich. Zudem sieht man schön den Überspannungsschutz am Übertrager-Ausgang zur Hochtonfolie. Im Gegensatz zu der von Quad in späteren Modellen eingesetzte Zenerdioden-Kette die den Klang negativ beeinflussen soll, ist die hier eingesetzte Gasentladungsstrecke CP Clare CG3-1.5L mit ihrem extrem hohen Widerstand (GΩ) und sehr niedriger Kapazität (pF) klangneutral – natürlich nur so lange sie nicht zündet, aber dann wird die Hochtonfolie auch übersteuert und es besteht Gefahr das sie anschlägt.