Computer Audio

this project / page is under construction

Table of Contents

Introduction

2017/01/17

My first functioning DAC is working excellent, therefore it becomes time to take care about a suitable digital source. For the first tests I took an embedded PC with Windows 7 Professional, Foobar2000 and Fidelizer Pro. The audiophile result was not bad, but my SACD player is hearable better. So I took a look in the high-end computer audio scene to get an idea about a proper system.

  • 2 PC solution (Control-PC & Audio-PC) plus tablet
  • MS Server Operating System
  • exclusive ethernet connection between both computers

Since a longer time I kept an eye on Roon as my main audio player software and with this project it becomes time to change over to it. I want to operate the complete computer system from my tablet. The first PC is the data storage for the music files and the Roon Core – it runs the Roon server and database. The second PC is a pure audio player.

Hardware

2017/01/17

The requirements for the control PC are reasonably high and therefore I bought an up-to-date and powerful hardware. The operating system and audio software are stored on a SSD and the music files on a big hard drive.

  • Mainboard Asus H170I-Pro
  • Processor Intel Core i5-6500
  • 16GB DDR4 RAM
  • SSD Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
  • Hard Drive WD Blue 3.5-Inch 4TB
  • Power Supply be quiet! Pure Power 9 300W

I took the descission for the mainboard mainly because of the onboard 2 ethernet ports and the integrated WiFi port.

The hardware is integrated in a mini tower from Fractal Design. Of course this PC is not free from noises with its hard drive and 3 fans (CPU, power supply and case), but it is surprisingly quiet. Nevertheless it will placed in the room nearby my listening room. The connection to the audio PC is an exclusive ethernet line.

For the audio player I’ve got an used embedded PC. I equipped it with a SSD for the operating system and the audio software. This PC has a passive cooling and therefore it is free of noises. Furthermore the hardware is powerful enough for its intended task.

  • Aaeon AEC-6876 with an Intel Core i5-2510E processor
  • 4GB DDR3 RAM
  • SSD Samsung 750 EVO 120GB

Currently I run the audio PC with its external switching power supply. In the future I will replace it with a DIY linear regulated power supply.

Software

2018/11/20

As I mentioned above I use on both computers Windows Server 2012 R2 as the operating system. In the BIOS of the PC’s I switched off everything around Intel SpeedStep, Turbo Mode, C-States, Virtualization Technology and Hyper-Threading. The operating systems are installed with the GUI.

Direct after the start of the new installed operation systems I implemented on both computers only the absolutely needed hardware drivers. In my case it was the chipset and LAN drivers. I installed no other driver software, particularily no drivers for the integrated graphic chips.

The network addresses have a fixed number and don’t get it dynamically from my router via DHCP. You have to take care that both addresses for the exclusive LAN interface between the control and audio PC has another address range as your internal LAN. After the installation the audio PC is no longer directly connected to the internal LAN of my home network.

After the installation of the operation systems and a following lengthy update of the software I put on both computers the USB driver for the Amanero Technologies card of my DAC and installed also JPLAY. An audio driver is not needed on the control PC for the normal operation of a two PC solution, but you need it for the configuration of JPLAY. Without an audio driver on the control PC I couldn’t set up this software.

After the successfull installation of the JPLAY communication between both PC’s over the exclusive LAN interface, I installed on the control PC the Roon server software and transfered my music files to the hard drive. The last step was to install the Roon App on my tablet. With it the system was ready to play music for the first time.

My first listening impressions are very positive, however I don’t hear the system very long in this condition. As the last step I installed on both computers the Audiophile Optimizer. With it I optimize the audio PC nearly completely – incl. a deactivation of the GUI. On the control PC I leave actually the GUI active.

Even if you don’t use the Audiophile Optimizer it is worth to have a look at its documentation which you can download from their website. It is a good starting point for high end computer audio with a lot of useful informations.

At least the following software packages are installed on the computers:

Control-PC / Roon Core

  • Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Chipset and LAN Drivers
  • Amanero Technologies USB Driver
  • JPLAY
  • Roon Server
  • Audiophile Optimizer

Audio-PC

  • Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Chipset and LAN Drivers
  • Amanero Technologies USB Driver
  • JPLAY
  • Audiophile Optimizer

The result is as good as I had hoped. After the first listening impressions and comparisons the audiophile performance of the system is at least equal to my premium SACD player. It showed also at which high level the hardware of my DAC is working.

Updates:
End of January 2017 after a friendly email contact with AudioPhil from Audiophile Optimizer I set the highest possible optimization mode for my system. I activated the Minimal Server Mode for the control PC and the Core Mode for the audio PC. Additionally I set Disable Network related Features on the audio PC, which is possible with JPLAY and a fixed IP address. The result is really impressive. Like that I never heard music from a digital source before.

You find my actual Audiophile Optimizer settings for both PC’s at the following Links:

At the end of April 2018 I installed an update of the Audiophile Optimizer from version 2.10 to 2.20. I was very pleasantly surprised how easy such an update is. Once again a proof of how professional and well designed this software is!!!

In November 2018 there was an update from JPLAY 6.2 to 7. The effort for the update is higher than for the Audiophile Optimizer, but also gives you the opportunity to update the Windows systems with the latest security patches. After the installation and the setting of JPLAY 7 I was curious if the euphoric announcements on the internet regarding the improved audio performance compared to the predecessor could be reproduced on my system – I was skeptical. Meanwhile I agree with these statements, unbelievable what potential is still in the systems. There is definitely no way back to version 6.2 for me.

Computer Audio

this project / page is under construction

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Einleitung

12.01.2017

Mein erster funktionsfähiger DAC läuft hervorragend und so war es an der Zeit sich auch um einen geeigneten Zuspieler zu kümmern. Erst einmal benutze ich einen Embedded PC mit Windows 7 Professional, Foobar2000 und Fidelizer Pro. Das Ergebnis war nicht schlecht, aber mein SACD Player war hörbar besser. Also schaute ich mich in der Szene um und mir wurden schnell einige Grundprinzipien klar:

  • 2 PC Lösung plus Tablet (Control-PC und Audio-PC)
  • MS Server Betriebssystem
  • exklusive Ethernet Verbindung zwischen den beiden Rechnern

Schon länger habe ich über Roon als Audio Player nachgedacht und mit diesem Projekt war es an der Zeit diesen Gedanken umzusetzen. Das System sollte über das Tablet bedient werden. Der erste PC dient als Datenspeicher für die Musikdateien und als Roon Core. Der zweite PC ist als reiner Audio Zuspieler ausgelegt.

Hardware

09.01.2017

Die Anforderungen an den Control-PC sind einigermaßen hoch und so sorgte ich hier für eine aktuelle und potente Hardware. Das Betriebssystem und die Software läuft auf einer SSD und die Musikdateien sind auf einer großen Festplatte gespeichert.

  • Mainboard Asus H170I-Pro
  • Prozessor Intel Core i5-6500
  • 16GB DDR4 RAM
  • SSD Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
  • Festplatte WD Blue 3,5-Zoll 4TB
  • Netzteil be quiet! Pure Power 9 300W

Die Entscheidung für das Mainboard traf ich im wesentlichen wegen der 2 Ethernet und des integrierten WiFi Ports.

Diese Hardware baute ich in einen Mini Tower von Fractal Design ein. Natürlich ist dieser PC nicht frei von Geräuschen mit seiner Festplatte und den 3 Lüftern (CPU, Netzteil und Gehäuse), er ist aber erstaunlich leise. Trotz allem wird er im Nachbarraum zu meinem Hörraum platziert werden. Die Verbindung mit dem Audio-PC wird über eine exklusive Ethernet Schnittstelle hergestellt.

Als Audio Zuspieler bekam ich einen gebrauchten Embedded PC, den ich mit einer SSD für das Betriebssystem und die Audio Software ausstattete. Dieser PC ist passiv gekühlt und somit frei von Geräuschen. Zudem ist die Hardware mehr als leistungsfähig genug für die ihm zugedachte Aufgabe.

  • Aaeon AEC-6876 mit einem Intel Core i5-2510E Prozessor
  • 4GB DDR3 RAM
  • SSD Samsung 750 EVO 120GB

Zur Zeit betreibe ich den Audio-PC mit seinem externen Schaltnetzteil. In Zukunft werde ich dieses durch ein selbst gebautes linear geregeltes Netzteil ersetzen.

Software

03.02.2017

Wie oben schon angedeutet setze ich als Betriebssystem auf beiden Rechnern Windows Server 2012 R2 ein. Im BIOS der Rechner schaltete ich alles rund um Intel SpeedStep, Turbo Mode, C-States, Virtualization Technology und Hyper-Threading ab. Das Betriebssystem ist auf den Rechnern mit GUI installiert worden.

Direkt nach dem ersten Start des neu installierten Betriebssystems habe ich dann auf beiden Rechnern die nur unbedingt benötigten Hardware-Treiber aufgespielt. In meinem Fall waren das Treiber für den Chipset und für die LAN Schnittstellen. Insbesondere installierte ich keine Treiber für die integrierte Graphik Hardware.

Die Netzwerkadressen beider PC’s sind fest zugeordnet und werden nicht automatisch durch meinen Router per DHCP vergeben. Dabei ist darauf zu achten das die beiden Adressen der LAN Verbindung zwischen Control-PC und Audio-PC nicht aus dem gleichen Adressbereich genommen werden wie der des internen LAN’s. Der Audio-PC ist ja nach der Installation des Betriebssystems auch nicht mehr mit diesem LAN verbunden.

Nach der Installation des Betriebssystems und eines anschließenden langwierigen Updates der Software habe ich dann auf beiden Rechnern den USB-Treiber für die Amanero Technologies Karte und JPLAY installiert. Auch wenn ich den Audio Treiber auf dem Control-PC nicht benötige, so wird er doch bei der Konfiguration von JPLAY abgefragt. Ohne einen Audio Treiber auf dem Rechner kann man JPLAY nicht konfigurieren.

Nachdem die JPLAY Kommunikation zwischen den beiden PC’s über die exklusive LAN Verbindung funktionierte, habe ich dann auf dem Control-PC die Roon Server Software installiert und die Musikdaten auf die Festplatte transferiert. Als letztes mußte ich dann noch auf meinem Androit Tablet die Roon App installieren. Damit war dann das System zum ersten mal spielbereit.

Das Ergebnis hat mich schon sehr angesprochen, allerdings hörte ich den Aufbau in dem Zustand nicht lange. Denn als letzte Maßnahme installierte ich auf beide PC’s den Audiophile Optimizer. Den Audio-PC habe ich damit fast vollständig optimiert – inkl. Deaktivierung der GUI. Auf dem Control-PC ist die GUI zur Zeit noch aktiv.

Selbst wenn man den Audiophile Optimizer nicht nutzt ist die frei erhältliche Dokumentation auf jeden Fall ein sehr guter Einstieg in die Materie. Es werden jede Menge nützlicher Informationen zum Thema vermittelt.

Damit befindet sich die folgende Software auf den Rechnern:

Control-PC / Roon Core

  • Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Chipset und LAN Treiber
  • Amanero Technologies USB Treiber
  • JPLAY
  • Roon Server
  • Audiophile Optimizer

Audio-PC

  • Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Chipset und LAN Treiber
  • Amanero Technologies USB Treiber
  • JPLAY
  • Audiophile Optimizer

Das Ergebnis ist mindestens so gut wie ich es mir erhofft hatte. Nach meinen ersten Eindrücken und Vergleichen ist die audiophile Performance des Systems zumindest gleichzusetzen mit meinem erstklassigen SACD Player. Damit zeigte sich auch auf welch hohem Niveau die Hardware des DAC’s spielt.

Zudem übertrifft Roon alle meine Erwartungen bei weitem. Mit dieser Software ist man in der Lage sein Musiksammlung ganz anders zu hören und man bekommt eine unglaubliche Menge an Informationen zusätzlich. Schon nach wenigen Wochen möchte ich diese Software nicht mehr missen.

Update:
Ende Januar 2017 stellte ich nach einem netten E-Mail Kontakt mit AudioPhil von Audiophile Optimizer die höchsten möglichen Optimierungsstufen für meinen Aufbau ein. Für den Control-PC aktivierte ich den Minimal Server Mode und für den Audio-PC den Core Mode. Zusätzlich habe ich auf dem Audio-PC auf noch Disable Network related Features eingestellt, mit JPLAY und festen IP-Adressen ist das möglich. Das Ergebnis ist wirklich beeindruckend.
So habe ich Musik von einer digitalen Quelle noch nie gehört.

Unter den folgenden Links finden sich meine aktuellen Audiophile Optimizer Einstellungen der PC’s: