My Music

2018/07/14

On the pages of this homepage I describe my activities around the DIY of audio components – all very technical. However, these beautiful technical toys make little sense without the corresponding software. Therefore I would like to present the most important of my musical favourites at this place.

Pat Metheny Group Let’s begin with Pat Metheny. This record brought me to jazz at the tender age of 19. When I first heard the song San Lorenzo I put my rock albums aside.

Pat Metheny Group
Pat Metheny Group
1978 / ECM 1114

Picture Source: www.ecmrecords.com
Keith Jarrett, Jan Garbarek, Palle Danielsson, Jon Christensen If I had to choose the ONE album then it would be this one. The interplay of Keith Jarrett and Jan Garbarek is simply indescribable and Country is for me one of the most beautiful jazz pieces ever.

Keith Jarrett, Jan Garbarek, Palle Danielsson & Jon Christensen
My Song
1978 / ECM 1115

Picture Source: www.ecmrecords.com

The two albums above are certainly the most important ones for me, that’s why I especially highlighted them. Below is the promised – alphabetically sorted – list of my top albums. As you can see it is very ECM intensive.

Nik Bärtsch's Ronin Nik Bärtsch himself describes his formation Ronin as Zenfunk-Quartet. A very unusual and rhythmic music that fascinates me again and again.

Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin
Llyrìa
2010 / ECM 2178

Picture Source: www.ecmrecords.com
Richard Beirach, George Mraz, Jack DeJohnette Like Richard Beirach playing the piano has always appealed to me. This album is certainly one of his most beautiful.

Richard Beirach, George Mraz & Jack DeJohnette
ELM
1979 / ECM 1142

Picture Source: www.ecmrecords.com
Gary Burton Quartet with Eberhard Weber Gary Burton learned playing the vibraphone as an autodidact, developing playing with four mallets. On this album you can also hear the young Pat Metheny. You can experience wonderful music and a perfect control of the instrument.

Gary Burton Quartet with Eberhard Weber
Passengers
1978 / ECM 1092

Picture Source: www.ecmrecords.com
Codona The Codona Trilogy:
Codona, that is Collin Walcott, Don Cherry and Nana Vasconcelos. These three musicians together made a music that no one had heard before and that has not been re-recorded since. However, it is no easy food, but if you like such music you can listen to it all your life – and often. At least that’s how I feel about these three albums.

Codona
Codona
1979 / ECM 1132

Codona
Codona 2
1981 / ECM 1177

Codona
Codona 3
1983 / ECM 1243

Picture Source: www.ecmrecords.com
Codona
Codona
Steve Eliovson, Collin Walcott About Steve Eliovson I can’t really report anything. He recorded this one album and then disappeared from the scene. For me it is besides the solo album of Ralph Towner one of the most beautiful guitar recordings, especially since here – again – Collin Walcott contributes a lot.

Steve Eliovson & Collin Walcott
Dawn Dance
1981 / ECM 1198

Picture Source: www.ecmrecords.com
Friedemann Friedemann is often referred to as wanderer between the worlds and his music as Contemporary Instrumental Music. I don’t care about any of that, I just like his music. Most of his albums are also excellent from an audiophile point of view.

Friedemann
Short Stories
2003 / Biber Records 76761

Picture Source: www.jpc.de
Jan Garbarek Jan Garbarek has been THE saxophonist for me for decades. There are so many beautiful albums of him and it’s hard for me to choose one here. But this is really one of his most beautiful.

Jan Garbarek
Visible World
1996 / ECM 1585

Picture Source: www.ecmrecords.com
Renaud Garcia-Fons Wikipedia: Renaud Garcia-Fons is considered one of the most virtuosic double bass players of the present in the stylistic environment of world music and jazz. This album describes musically a journey around the Mediterranean – simply brilliant.

Renaud Garcia-Fons
Méditerranées
2011 / Enja Records ENJ-9563 2

Picture Source: www.allmusic.de
Egberto Gismonti, Nana Vasconcelos If you love jazz with folklore, exotic instruments and perfect music, nothing is wrong with this album. There are a number of extraordinary albums of and with these two musicians and I own most of them.

Egberto Gismonti & Nana Vasconcelos
Duas Vozes
1985 / ECM 1279

Picture Source: www.ecmrecords.com
Charlie Haden, Jan Garbarek, Egberto Gismonti An album by and with three exceptional musicians. There are 2 albums from the time with this trio. Actually, I can’t really tell which one I like better, so I just put the older one here.

Charlie Haden, Jan Garbarek & Egberto Gismonti
Magico
1980 / ECM 1151

Picture Source: www.ecmrecords.com
Keith Jarrett According to Wikipedia, the best-selling and most popular release of Keith Jarrett. Also the best-selling jazz and best-selling piano solo record. Besides these superlatives, there is also amazingly good music.

Keith Jarrett
The Köln Concert
1975 / ECM 1064/1065

Picture Source: www.ecmrecords.com
Helge Lien, Knut Hem A new acquisition from this year (2018). On this album you can hear a duo – piano and Dobro. With a unique blend of jazz and bluegrass, the two show the amazing similarities between two conflicting worlds: The quiet melancholy of the fjords and the endless solitude of the canyons; the clinking cold of the Norwegian hinterland and the glowing freedom of the American highways. When I first heard the Dobro I sat in front of my loudspeakers and didn’t get my mouth back…

Helge Lien & Knut Hem
Hummingbird
2018 / Ozella OZ079CD

Picture Source: www.jpc.de
Pat Metheny, Lyle Mays To Pat Metheny I have already written something above. This is an album together with his longtime partner Lyle Mays and the percussionist Nana Vasconcelos. Besides the album above my favorite from the large number of releases from Metheny.

Pat Metheny & Lyle Mays
As Falls Wichita, So Falls Wichita Falls
1981 / ECM 1190

Picture Source: www.ecmrecords.com
Oregon Oregon is one of my favorite bands since my jazz beginnings. On this recording they only play as a trio, unfortunately without the fatally injured Collin Walcott. This recording was recorded in a church with digital equipment that was audiophile for the time.

Oregon
Beyond Words
1995 / Chesky JD130

Picture Source: www.jpc.de
Gary Peacock, Keith Jarrett, Jack DeJohnette This album with songs written exclusively by Gary Peacock has its own intensity. There are many beautiful albums with this trio, but for me this is by far the best.

Gary Peacock, Keith Jarrett & Jack DeJohnette
Tales Of Another
1977 / ECM 1101

Picture Source: www.ecmrecords.com
Herbert Pixner Projekt During a sleepless night zapping through the TV channels I suddenly saw a recording of a concert from the Herbert Pixner Project. Since I like to listen to the accordion very much, I immediately liked the music really much. Unfortunately, the recording levels are too high and there are a lot of Inter Sample Peaks.

Herbert Pixner Projekt
Na und?!
2012 / Aktiv Sound Studio

Picture Source: www.jpc.de
Quadro Nuevo The music style is described by the band itself as a mixture of Tango, Valse Musette, Flamenco, lovingly de-dusted film music and an almost faded Italy. I don’t like all albums of the group, but on this album just every song is very beautiful.

Quadro Nuevo
Mocca Flor
2003 / GLM/Fine Music FM 110-2

Picture Source: www.allmusic.com
Esbjörn Svensson Trio I think about e.s.t. you don’t need to say much. This is my favourite album of this extraordinary trio. It is a tragedy that the work of Esbjörn Svensson ended 2008 so abruptly.

e.s.t. – Esbjörn Svensson Trio
Tuesday Wonderland
2006 / ACT 9016-2

Picture Source: www.actmusic.com
Esbjörn Svensson Trio A live album that captured the genius of this trio with an incredible intensity. Who can describe it better than Esbjörn Svensson himself:

… 8 p.m. – about time to start! We get introduced and enter the stage. Time stops!
Performing improvised music is like transcending into another world or dimension. …
… It sounded amazing and I was glad to hear how technically well the NDR had taped the show. …

The CD is already remarkable, but no comparison with the vinyl!

e.s.t. – Esbjörn Svensson Trio
Live in Hamburg
2007 / ACT 6002-2
2013 / ACT LP 6002-1

Picture Source: www.actmusic.com
Tingvall Trio The Tingvall Trio is often compared with e.s.t., but for me this comparison is not conclusive. The music of this trio has a very special character. It lives from the 3 different cultures of the band members. This trio always takes me right after the first notes.

Tingvall Trio
Vägen
2011 / Skip Records SKP 9107

Picture Source: www.jpc.de
Ralph Towner Ralph Towner is a member of the group Oregon. But he has also released some very remarkable albums of his own. This one is a breathtaking recording of two solo concerts by him (Munich & Zurich), musically and technically perfect.

Ralph Towner
Solo Concert
1980 / ECM 1173

Picture Source: www.ecmrecords.com
Collin Walcott, John Abercrombie, Dave Holland, Jack DeJohnette From Collin Walcott I have already written several times. He was one of the first sitar players in jazz. This album was released under his name. His two musical instruments – Sitar and Tabla – are particularly well accentuated in the pieces.

Collin Walcott, John Abercrombie, Dave Holland & Jack DeJohnette
Cloud Dance
1976 / ECM 1062

Picture Source: www.ecmrecords.com
Eberhard Weber Wikipedia: Eberhard Weber belongs beside Jaco Pastorius to the few bassists who have greatly expanded the bass playing in jazz. His unique style is immediately recognizable by the tone and phrasing and is described as lyrical, floating and warm. He recorded his most beautiful albums around 1980. This is one of them and my personal favorite.

Eberhard Weber
Yellow Fields
1976 / ECM 1066

Picture Source: www.ecmrecords.com

Meine Musik

14.07.2018

Auf den Seiten dieser Homepage beschreibe ich meine Aktivitäten rund um den Selbstbau von Audio Komponenten – alles sehr technisch. Allerdings machen diese schönen technischen Spielzeuge wenig Sinn ohne die entsprechende Software. Deshalb möchte ich an dieser Stelle die wichtigsten meiner musikalischen Favoriten vorstellen.

Pat Metheny Group Los geht es mit Pat Metheny. Diese Scheibe hat mich im zarten Alter von 19 Jahren zum Jazz gebracht. Als ich zum ersten Mal das Stück San Lorenzo gehört hatte legte ich meine Rock Alben zur Seite.

Pat Metheny Group
Pat Metheny Group
1978 / ECM 1114

Bildquelle: www.ecmrecords.com
Keith Jarrett, Jan Garbarek, Palle Danielsson, Jon Christensen Wenn ich mich für das EINE Album entscheiden müßte dann wäre es dieses. Das Zusammenspiel von Keith Jarrett und Jan Garbarek ist einfach unbeschreiblich und Country ist für mich eines der schönsten Jazz Stücke überhaupt.

Keith Jarrett, Jan Garbarek, Palle Danielsson & Jon Christensen
My Song
1978 / ECM 1115

Bildquelle: www.ecmrecords.com

Die beiden Alben oben sind sicherlich die wichtigsten für mich, deshalb habe ich sie auch besonders herausgestellt. Unten findet sich die versprochene – alphabetisch geordnete – Liste meiner Top-Alben. Wie man sieht ist es sehr ECM lastig.

Nik Bärtsch's Ronin Nik Bärtsch selbst beschreibt seine Formation Ronin als Zenfunk-Quartett. Eine sehr ungewöhnliche und rhythmische Musik die mich immer wieder direkt in ihren Bann zieht.

Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin
Llyrìa
2010 / ECM 2178

Bildquelle: www.ecmrecords.com
Richard Beirach, George Mraz, Jack DeJohnette Die Art wie Richard Beirach das Klavier spielt hat mich schon immer sehr angesprochen. Dieses Album ist sicherlich eines seiner schönsten.

Richard Beirach, George Mraz & Jack DeJohnette
ELM
1979 / ECM 1142

Bildquelle: www.ecmrecords.com
Gary Burton Quartet with Eberhard Weber Das Vibraphon erlernte Gary Burton als Autodidakt, dabei entwickelte er das Spielen mit vier Mallets. Auf diesem Album ist auch der junge Pat Metheny zu hören. Zu erleben gibt es eine wunderbare Musik und eine perfekte Beherrschung des Instrumentes.

Gary Burton Quartet with Eberhard Weber
Passengers
1978 / ECM 1092

Bildquelle: www.ecmrecords.com
Codona Die Codona Trilogie:
Codona, das sind Collin Walcott, Don Cherry und Nana Vasconcelos. Diese drei Musiker machten zusammen eine Musik wie sie niemand zuvor je gehört hatte und wie sie seitdem nicht wieder aufgenommen worden ist. Allerdings ist sie keine leichte Kost, aber wenn man eine solche Musik mag kann man sie sein ganzes Leben immer wieder – und oft – hören. So ergeht es zumindest mir mit diesen 3 Alben.

Codona
Codona
1979 / ECM 1132

Codona
Codona 2
1981 / ECM 1177

Codona
Codona 3
1983 / ECM 1243

Bildquelle: www.ecmrecords.com
Codona
Codona
Steve Eliovson, Collin Walcott Über Steve Eliovson kann ich nicht wirklich etwas berichten. Er hat dieses eine Album aufgenommen und ist dann von der Bildfläche verschwunden. Für mich ist es neben dem Solo Album von Ralph Towner eines der schönsten Gitarren Einspielungen, zumal hier – mal wieder – Collin Walcott einiges beisteuert.

Steve Eliovson & Collin Walcott
Dawn Dance
1981 / ECM 1198

Bildquelle: www.ecmrecords.com
Friedemann Friedemann wird oft als Wanderer zwischen den Welten und seine Musik als Contemporary Instrumental Music bezeichnet. Mir ist das alles ziemlich egal, ich mag einfach seine Musik. Die meisten seiner Alben sind auch noch vom audiophilen Standpunkt aus hervorragend.

Friedemann
Short Stories
2003 / Biber Records 76761

Bildquelle: www.jpc.de
Jan Garbarek Jan Garbarek ist für mich seit Jahrzehnten DER Saxophonist. Es gibt so viele schöne Alben von ihm und es fällt mir schwer hier eines auszusuchen. Aber dieses ist wirklich eines seiner schönsten.

Jan Garbarek
Visible World
1996 / ECM 1585

Bildquelle: www.ecmrecords.com
Renaud Garcia-Fons Wikipedia: Renaud Garcia-Fons gilt als einer der virtuosesten Kontrabassisten der Gegenwart im stilistischen Umfeld der Weltmusik und des Jazz. Dieses Album beschreibt musikalisch eine Reise rund um das Mittelmeer – einfach nur genial.

Renaud Garcia-Fons
Méditerranées
2011 / Enja Records ENJ-9563 2

Bildquelle: www.allmusic.de
Egberto Gismonti, Nana Vasconcelos Wer Jazz mit Folklore, exotische Instrumente sowie perfekte Musik liebt macht mit diesem Album sicherlich nichts falsch. Es gibt eine Reihe von außergewöhnlichen Alben von und mit diesen beiden Musikern und ich besitze die meisten davon.

Egberto Gismonti & Nana Vasconcelos
Duas Vozes
1985 / ECM 1279

Bildquelle: www.ecmrecords.com
Charlie Haden, Jan Garbarek, Egberto Gismonti Ein Album von und mit drei Ausnahmemusikern. Es gibt 2 Alben aus der Zeit mit diesem Trio. Eigentlich kann ich nicht wirklich sagen welches mir besser gefällt, also habe ich einfach das ältere hier hereingestellt.

Charlie Haden, Jan Garbarek & Egberto Gismonti
Magico
1980 / ECM 1151

Bildquelle: www.ecmrecords.com
Keith Jarrett Laut Wikipedia die meistverkaufte und bekannteste Veröffentlichung von Keith Jarrett. Zudem die meistverkaufte Jazz- und meistverkaufte Klavier-Soloplatte. Neben diesen Superlativen gibt es auch noch umwerfend gute Musik.

Keith Jarrett
The Köln Concert
1975 / ECM 1064/1065

Bildquelle: www.ecmrecords.com
Helge Lien, Knut Hem Ein Neuanschaffung aus diesem Jahr (2018). Auf diesem Album ist ein Duo zu hören – Klavier und Dobro. Mit einer einzigartigen Mischung aus Jazz und Bluegrass zeigen die beiden die verblüffenden Ähnlichkeiten zwischen zwei widersprüchlichen Welten auf: Der stillen Melancholie der Fjorde und der endlosen Einsamkeit der Canyons; der klirrenden Kälte des norwegischen Hinterlandes und der glühenden Freiheit der amerikanischen Highways. Als ich die Dobro zum ersten Mal hörte habe ich vor meinen Lautsprechern gesessen und den Mund nicht wieder zu bekommen …

Helge Lien & Knut Hem
Hummingbird
2018 / Ozella OZ079CD

Bildquelle: www.jpc.de
Pat Metheny, Lyle Mays Zu Pat Metheny habe ich ja oben schon etwas geschrieben. Dies ist ein Album zusammen mit seinem langjährigen Partner Lyle Mays und dem Perkussionisten Nana Vasconcelos. Neben dem Album oben mein Favorit aus der großen Anzahl an Veröffentlichungen von Metheny.

Pat Metheny & Lyle Mays
As Falls Wichita, So Falls Wichita Falls
1981 / ECM 1190

Bildquelle: www.ecmrecords.com
Oregon Oregon ist eine meiner Lieblingsformationen seit meinen Jazz Anfängen. Bei dieser Aufnahme spielen sie nur als Trio, leider ohne den tötlich verunglückten Collin Walcott. Diese Aufnahme wurde in einer Kirche eingespielt mit einem für die Zeit audiophilen digitalen Equipment.

Oregon
Beyond Words
1995 / Chesky JD130

Bildquelle: www.jpc.de
Gary Peacock, Keith Jarrett, Jack DeJohnette Dieses Album mit ausschließlich von Gary Peacock geschriebenen Stücken hat eine ganz eigene Intensität. Es gibt viele schöne Alben mit diesem Trio, aber für mich ist dieses das mit Abstand beste.

Gary Peacock, Keith Jarrett & Jack DeJohnette
Tales Of Another
1977 / ECM 1101

Bildquelle: www.ecmrecords.com
Herbert Pixner Projekt Während einer schlaflosen Nacht beim zappen durch die Fernsehkanäle sah ich plötzlich den Mitschnitt eines Konzertes vom Herbert Pixner Projekt. Da ich Akkordeon sehr gerne höre hat mir die Musik auf Anhieb sehr gut gefallen. Leider sind die Aufnahmen zu stark ausgesteuert und es kommt immer wieder zu Inter Sample Peaks.

Herbert Pixner Projekt
Na und?!
2012 / Aktiv Sound Studio

Bildquelle: www.jpc.de
Quadro Nuevo Der Musikstil wird von der Band selbst als eine Mischung aus Tango, Valse Musette, Flamenco, liebevoll entstaubte Filmmusik und ein fast schon verklungenes Italien beschrieben. Mir gefallen nicht alle Alben der Gruppe, aber auf diesem Album ist einfach jedes Stück sehr schön.

Quadro Nuevo
Mocca Flor
2003 / GLM/Fine Music FM 110-2

Bildquelle: www.allmusic.com
Esbjörn Svensson Trio Ich denke über e.s.t. braucht man nicht viel zu sagen. Dies ist mein Lieblingsalbum dieses außergewöhnlichen Trios. Es ist eine Tragödie das dem Schaffen von Esbjörn Svensson 2008 ein so jähes Ende gesetzt wurde.

e.s.t. – Esbjörn Svensson Trio
Tuesday Wonderland
2006 / ACT 9016-2

Bildquelle: www.actmusic.com
Esbjörn Svensson Trio Ein Live Album das die Genialität dieses Trios mit einer unglaublichen Intensität eingefangen hat. Wer kann es besser beschreiben als Esbjörn Svensson selbst:

… 8 p.m. – about time to start! We get introduced and enter the stage. Time stops!
Performing improvised music is like transcending into another world or dimension. …
… It sounded amazing and I was glad to hear how technically well the NDR had taped the show. …

Die CD ist schon bemerkenswert, aber kein Vergleich mit dem Vinyl!

e.s.t. – Esbjörn Svensson Trio
Live in Hamburg
2007 / ACT 6002-2
2013 / ACT LP 6002-1

Bildquelle: www.actmusic.com
Tingvall Trio Das Tingvall Trio wird oft mit e.s.t. verglichen, für mich ist dieser Vergleich aber nicht wirklich schlüssig. Die Musik dieses Trios hat eine ganz eigene Prägung und lebt von den 3 unterschiedlichen Kulturen der Band Mitglieder. Dieses Trio nimmt mich immer wieder direkt nach den ersten Takten mit.

Tingvall Trio
Vägen
2011 / Skip Records SKP 9107

Bildquelle: www.jpc.de
Ralph Towner Ralph Towner ist ein Mitglied der Gruppe Oregon. Aber er hat auch sehr bemerkenswerte eigene Alben herausgebracht. Dieses hier ist ein atemberaubender Mitschnitt zweier Solo Konzerte von ihm (München & Zürich), musikalisch und technisch perfekt.

Ralph Towner
Solo Concert
1980 / ECM 1173

Bildquelle: www.ecmrecords.com
Collin Walcott, John Abercrombie, Dave Holland, Jack DeJohnette Von Collin Walcott habe ich schon mehrfach geschrieben. Er war einer der ersten Sitar Spieler im Jazz. Dieses Album wurde unter seinem Namen veröffentlicht. Seine beiden Musikinstrumente – Sitar und Tabla – kommen in den Stücken besonders gut zur Geltung.

Collin Walcott, John Abercrombie, Dave Holland & Jack DeJohnette
Cloud Dance
1976 / ECM 1062

Bildquelle: www.ecmrecords.com
Eberhard Weber Wikipedia: Eberhard Weber zählt neben Jaco Pastorius zu den wenigen Bassisten, die das Bassspiel im Jazz stark erweitert haben. Sein einzigartiger Stil ist durch die Tongebung und Phrasierung sofort erkennbar und wird als lyrisch, schwebend und warm beschrieben. Seine schönsten Alben hat er um 1980 herum eingespielt. Dieses ist eines davon und mein persönlicher Favorit.

Eberhard Weber
Yellow Fields
1976 / ECM 1066

Bildquelle: www.ecmrecords.com